PreenFM Forum

PreenFM => PreenFM1 (the blue one) => Topic started by: Xavier on April 24, 2012, 12:15:53 AM

Title: PreenVST 2.00.B3 (OSX Version available).
Post by: Xavier on April 24, 2012, 12:15:53 AM
Hi,

Here are the VST version for windows.
http://xhosxe.free.fr/PreenFM/VST/
Chose the win32 for 32 bits and x64 for the 64 bits version.

August 16th : OSX version !
This is 2.00.B3 version so it requires a 2.00.B3 firmware.
The VST for OSX should work for both 32 and 64 bits host and osx 10.5 and above.
http://xhosxe.free.fr/PreenFM/VST/osx
I'm very interested by any feedbacks on osx. This is very new for me and to be honnest i've only tried with Reaper 32bits on osx 10.6.8.
The library i use do not allow for the moment AudioUnit plugin to send midi. I'll work on that.

Let me know all your problems/bugs etc... All remarks are welcome.

What's new in PreenVST 2.00.B3
. Compatible with firmware 2.00.B3 (matrix destination list + FULL NRPN support).
. Provided with more than 50 presets from the great Funkyfli bank + some drum sounds.
. Preset names are now editable with you computer keyboard and is saved with the preset.
. New version number to make the firmware compatibility clearer ;-)
. Much more tests than the previous one (so lots of fixes)...

Quick start :
Update your PreenFM firmware to be compatible with your PreenVST.
http://xhosxe.free.fr/PreenFM/firmware/
Then, PreenFM  Menu->conf :
  Midi channel : All or 1
  Midi thru : No
  Recevies :NRPN
  Send : NRPN
In your sequencer, the track where you put the plugin should receveive the PreenFM midi output and the track should send midi to the PreenFM input.
Load a preset on the PreenFM (hardware) then press "get preset" on the plugin... The hardware should dump its state and the plugin should be updated.

. What you change on the plugin should be copied to the PreenFM.
. What you change on the PreenFM should be copied to the plugin. So they should stay in sync.

Quit the sequencer, reload your project, the PreenFM should be initialized with the plugin state.

PS :
The sources will be available and i used IPlug libraries from Cokcos modified by olilarkin:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=91811
Si this should compile without too much modification as audio unit for mac. If you have a mac, understand what all that means, and have free time to spend... let me know.

If you use Reaper you need to do the following:
"First call up the preferences panel (CTRL P) - then scroll down the list on the left and choose 'MIDI Devices'
At the bottom of the main panel, you will see tick boxes for "On stop/play..." followed by a few reset options.
Clearing the 'Reset CC' should stop Reaper from sending annoying messages that will set to the min value the last param you changed..."

Cheers,

Xavier
Title: Re: PreenFM VST 0.1
Post by: funkyfli on May 03, 2012, 02:06:10 AM
I tried using it in Sonar X1 Extended x64 and I could not get it to work.  It does however load, open, close and look fine. 
To set up vstis that output MIDI in Sonar, you are supposed to 'Enable MIDI Output'.  I could not get this to work however many times I clicked it.  (I enabled output on Kontakt.)  Though, I have never used a vst hardware programmer before, so I could be missing something. 
It does look good though, and  I hope to use it to full effect. :)
Title: Re: PreenFM VST 0.1
Post by: Xavier on May 04, 2012, 09:50:32 AM

Thanks for the report.
I'll give it a try with sonar.
I have a sonar 8 license... I'll reinstall it and see if i can reproduce. I also saw there's a trial sonar X1 version.
I really have to try it on other hosts...

Xavier
Title: Re: PreenFM VST 0.1
Post by: funkyfli on May 04, 2012, 06:02:42 PM
Sonar has a very unintuitive way of implementing MIDI vsts.  From what I have read, in order to get midi input and output... you first need to designate the vst as an instrument and then enable midi output on the instrument.  I think this is the first time I have bothered to try to get this working.  Hopefully, you have better luck. :)
Title: Re: PreenFM VST 0.1
Post by: Xavier on May 05, 2012, 11:31:08 PM
The first VST was declared as an FX, it must be a synth to work in Sonar.
The v0.2 i just uploaded should work better.
http://xhosxe.free.fr/PreenFM/VST/

I fought against sonar 8 to have it working.
I have the VST send midi to the Preen.
I cannot get the Preen send correctly to the VST. Seems like all NRPN value are 0. The right VST controller change but with the value 0.
There is a strange "don't intercept NRPN" option in the VST options that does not change anything.
Don't know if it's a Sonar 8 problem with NRPN or if it's a problem with the VST.

I'll try to investigate further when i have more time.
Anyway this V0.2 is better than the other.

Let me know what works / does not work for you,
Thanks,

Xavier
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.2
Post by: funkyfli on May 06, 2012, 10:02:17 PM
You'll be happy to know that this so far works perfectly in Hermann Seib's VSTHost.  And, I had some fun messing around with it.
As for Sonar X1, I have given up for the day.  I can enable MIDI output, but I can't record or send the NRPN to the PreenFM.  This is on the same track as the notes.  I also can't record any incoming PreenFM NRPN.  There must be some filtering settings somewhere I can't find.  I'll try again when the frustration dies down.

A couple of requests for the VST... Could you add Mouse Wheel support?  And is it possible to add direct input of values via the keyboard?
Also a couple of small issues I noticed: the voices do not follow the algorithms when they are switched, and, the matrix combobox options are displayed below the lower comboboxes and the version #.

thanks, Martin.
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.2
Post by: Xavier on May 07, 2012, 08:56:20 AM

Great you have it working with VSTHost !

Mouse Wheel is supported all over the VST and should work.
I also use mouse wheel a lot and it was a priority.
Maybe VSTHost does not forward the mouse wheel info to the VST. I'll give it a try.

Thanks for the other reports.

I'll try to build a standalone version. The VST framework i use has this feature.

Xavier
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.2
Post by: funkyfli on May 07, 2012, 06:07:59 PM
Weird.  The mouse wheel does not work on Sonar 8.5 and X1 or VSTHost for me.  I'm using the x64 version.
A standalone version would be great!  I'd much prefer that over a vst.  Though, I'll keep trying to get cakewalk to work.

thanks, Martin.
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.2
Post by: funkyfli on May 08, 2012, 07:49:40 PM
Had another go with Sonar and a new session... And quickly found one issue w/ sonar
... The Plugin MUST have an associated audio track... for some strange reason.  Otherwise, it will not receive or send midi.
So, you'll be happy to know it does now work! :) ... Though, I still need to figure our why I don't get mouse wheel response.

For future reference:
a.  Make sure 'Do not intercept NRPNs' is checked in the VST Plug-In Properties

1.  Insert VST with associated Audio and MIDI tracks
2.  Right Click on VST in Synth Rack and 'Enable MIDI Output'
3.  Insert new MIDI track and set the input to the VST and the output to the PreenFM MIDI port.
4.  Set the VST MIDI input track input to the PreenFM MIDI port.
5.  Set the input echo on both MIDI tracks to 'on'
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.2
Post by: Xavier on May 10, 2012, 02:40:06 PM

Thanks a lot for the report.
Yes i'm happy you have it working.

I've noticed that too in sonar 8. It works with an instrument track but not with a midi only track !! That's sounds weird !
But sonar 8 there seems to have an aditional NRPN bug... anyway sonar 8 is 4 years old now.


Xavier
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.2
Post by: funkyfli on May 10, 2012, 04:34:47 PM
I have checked and it works in Sonar 8.5 x64 as well. :)

Martin.

A Bug:  On Algorithm 9, switching operator 5 shape, changes the frequency to low (.38 I think)
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.2
Post by: maDMax on May 11, 2012, 05:21:42 PM
here:

win7 64 bit, bidule as host 32 bit, preen vst works out of the box. very good for programming presets

max
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.2
Post by: Xavier on May 13, 2012, 11:07:21 PM
Bidule 32 bit : checked
Sonar 8.5 and X1 : checked
Reaper : checked
VSTHost : checked

Thanks  for the feedbacks :)
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.3
Post by: Xavier on May 20, 2012, 09:16:04 PM
v0.3 is ready....
http://xhosxe.free.fr/PreenFM/VST/

Thanks a lot funkyfli for the bug reports....
Fixed in v0.3 :
1> "the voices do not follow the algorithms when they are switched"

2> "and, the matrix combobox options are displayed below the version # "
Fixing "the lower comboboxes" was a bit more complicated so not priority 1 for the moment

3> "On Algorithm 9, switching operator 5 shape, changes the frequency to low (.38 I think)"
Good catch... operator 6 shape was also broken...

Xavier

Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.3
Post by: funkyfli on May 21, 2012, 11:13:58 PM
Thanks!  It's still working great.

I found out that in Sonar you need to check 'Do Not Intercept NRPNs' in the plugin properties to pass NRPN values other than zero.

Bug:  When saving in Sonar (also Autosave), the Algorithm will go back one value as well as the Operator Shapes.  eg. if Alg. was set to 8 a save will send it back to 7.  It must be calling some routine when saving.

thanks again,

Martin.
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.3
Post by: Xavier on May 22, 2012, 01:53:58 PM

I'll give a look at this bug (rather sooner than later)...
Thanks,

Xavier
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.3
Post by: funkyfli on May 23, 2012, 12:26:11 AM
small bug:  retrieving a patch with a negative fine tune returns 256 + fine tune value... ie  FTun = -24  VST shows: 232
smaller bug: Algorithm 3 has a max of 3 voices not 4 :)
Martin.
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.3
Post by: Xavier on May 24, 2012, 09:25:15 AM

Thanks a lot (again) for the bug reports.
Keep them coming  ;)

But I'm afraid next VST version won't be able the middle of next week.

Xavier
Title: PreenFM VST v0.4 released
Post by: Xavier on May 29, 2012, 10:37:25 PM
1. Bug:  When saving in Sonar (also Autosave), the Algorithm will go back one value as well as the Operator Shapes.  eg. if Alg. was set to 8 a save will send it back to 7.  It must be calling some routine when saving.
2. small bug:  retrieving a patch with a negative fine tune returns 256 + fine tune value... ie  FTun = -24  VST shows: 232
3. smaller bug: Algorithm 3 has a max of 3 voices not 4 :)
Martin.

Thanks again for the bug reports.
1 & 3 are fixed in PreenVST v0.4
2 is fixed by using firmware 1.70

Xavier
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.4
Post by: funkyfli on May 30, 2012, 09:02:37 PM
thanks!  Any luck with adding the ability to name the patch in the vst?

Martin.
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.4
Post by: Xavier on May 31, 2012, 11:22:09 PM

Yes that would be great...
I gave a quick tried at the begining and it was not that easy with the libray i use.

It's definitely on the TODO...
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.5
Post by: Xavier on June 04, 2012, 11:32:22 PM
What changed in PreenVST v0.5 :

. I realized that "Gate" was missing in the matrix desination list, so i added it.
  Reminder from the manual : "Gate : route the step sequencer to this and the multipler to 16 to have a kind of gate controlled by the StepSeq. Playing with the multiplier between 1 and 16 can give interesting result."

. removed the URL on the PreenFM logo that prevent from clicking on top matrix destination

. changed PreenFM logo to PreenVST
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.5
Post by: funkyfli on June 22, 2012, 08:36:38 PM
quick bug:  when Sonar saves / autosaves it sends the name '- Default -' to the PreenFM overwriting the current name as well as losing the name on the VST. :)
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.5
Post by: Xavier on June 26, 2012, 09:46:34 AM

Yes, the preset name has lots of problem...
I'll have to make it saved with the preset and ideally editable from withing the VST.

I'll try to work on that in August... don't have free time right now, then i'll go in vacation...

Xavier
Title: Re: PreenFM VST v0.5
Post by: funkyfli on June 27, 2012, 06:38:53 PM
No problem.  You didn't think I'd let a bug 'fly' :)
Title: Re: PreenVST 2.00.B3
Post by: Xavier on August 14, 2012, 12:31:01 AM
Martin, the last version 2.00.b3 should fix the presets name problem...
Let me know,

Xavier
Title: Re: PreenVST 2.00.B3 (OSX Version available).
Post by: Xavier on August 16, 2012, 10:53:55 PM

Just uploaded a first attempt to a PreenVST 2.00.B3 for osx...
http://xhosxe.free.fr/PreenFM/VST/osx/

Xavier
Title: Re: PreenVST 2.00.B3 (OSX Version available).
Post by: funkyfli on August 19, 2012, 06:40:24 PM
OK.  Back home.  Naming is working great!  I haven't found any issues in my initial 'messing around'. 
I did, however, notice that the voices does not match the algorithm anymore.  (I think you fix that before the optimizations.)

thanks!
Title: Re: PreenVST 2.00.B3 (OSX Version available).
Post by: Xavier on August 19, 2012, 11:00:21 PM

Great... Thanks...
Hope you're OK that i used your bank for the plugin preset...

Now that there is at least 4 voices for all algo... the voices always go back to 4, when you change the algo.
Except if the number of voice is 1, it remains 1.

The PreenFM and the VST should always display the same number of voice.

Do you see something wrong ?

Xavier
Title: Re: PreenVST 2.00.B3 (OSX Version available).
Post by: funkyfli on August 20, 2012, 03:42:21 PM
Ah!  That explains why another patch name showed up when I loaded the session ;D  Feel free to use the patches how you like.

Ok. What I see is, when I change the algo, the vst voices does not go back to 4 when it is over 4.  It doesn't change.  When below 4 voices the synth doesn't change either... which works then.
Title: Re: PreenVST 2.00.B3 (OSX Version available).
Post by: Xavier on August 20, 2012, 05:43:50 PM
Can you confirm you have a 2.00.B3 firmware in your PreenFM ?
Also, did you take it from the BETA before the annoucement ?
(I uploaded several 2.00.B3 and only the last one sends the voice NRPN info when changing patch).

Anyway, i'll give a try when i'm at home.
Title: Re: PreenVST 2.00.B3 (OSX Version available).
Post by: funkyfli on August 20, 2012, 11:14:39 PM
Oops.  Sorry.  I had the MIDI Send set to CC.  It works fine.  :)
Title: Re: PreenVST 2.00.B3 (OSX Version available).
Post by: Xavier on August 21, 2012, 10:58:26 AM

OK... i prefer that ;-)
The plugin only understands Nrpn.
Title: Re: PreenVST 2.00.B3 (OSX Version available).
Post by: Ryan on February 27, 2013, 05:26:04 PM
really great plugin!

Would there be any chance of you putting it up on github? I'm really curious about writing vst plugins. I would love to make a similar plugin for my cz-101 as it's awful to program and doesn't keep patches in memory when you unplug it, but sounds great.

Thanks for making such a handy tool!
Title: Re: PreenVST 2.00.B3 (OSX Version available).
Post by: Xavier on March 03, 2013, 06:41:44 PM
Thanks Ryan  :)
I just put the code here :
http://xhosxe.free.fr/PreenFM/PreenFMVst.zip

It's the code only in case you want to give a look or take what you can find usefull from it.
It took me some time to have the midi working reasonably quickly without slowing down the sequencer.
Except that, the code is not specially nice.

The PreenFM VST is built on "wdl-ol" framework... WDL/IPlug from Cockos enhanced by  Oli Larkin.
https://github.com/olilarkin/wdl-ol


Xavier
Title: Re: PreenVST 2.00.B3 (OSX Version available).
Post by: dimifrag on January 12, 2014, 10:21:59 PM
this work with preenfm 2?
Title: Re: PreenVST 2.00.B3 (OSX Version available).
Post by: Xavier on January 12, 2014, 11:31:49 PM
this work with preenfm 2?

No...
Working a PFM2 version is on my list.