PreenFM Forum

PreenFM => PreenFM2 => Topic started by: kuzma_p on January 12, 2014, 02:41:08 PM

Title: [Fixed in 0.9p] Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: kuzma_p on January 12, 2014, 02:41:08 PM
While browsing this bank my PreenFM freezes completely (on preset 4 or 5, around here) with fancy graphics on screen :D
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: Xavier on January 12, 2014, 03:12:55 PM
While browsing this bank my PreenFM freezes completely (on preset 4 or 5, around here) with fancy graphics on screen :D

What bank ? Funky12.BNK ?
Everytime on same preset ?
Works fine here...
You should try to redownload it and resinstall it on the USB stick.

If it still crashes, with 0.9o firmware, you should get STM32F4 register dump on the screen, that will allow me to know where it crashes.



Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: kuzma_p on January 12, 2014, 08:01:44 PM
Yes Funky12.BNK
Everytime on 3rd preset

Redownloaded and reinstalled. Still crashes. Firmware 0.9o o, by the way.

It shows this on screen:
HrdFlt        LR:080530E5
08056FBA      49000000
1000B4FC      00000000
00000001      20027748
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: Xavier on January 12, 2014, 08:55:58 PM

Thanks for the LCD copy.
That's weird.
I cannot reproduce and the registers targets a midi new byte sub routines.. ?
Could you attach the Funky12.BNK file you have ?
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: kuzma_p on January 13, 2014, 08:12:48 AM
Here it is
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: Xavier on January 13, 2014, 10:19:58 PM

Thanks.... But it works perfectly here with "0.9o o" firmware.  :-\

Several questions :
1. It always freeze on preset 3 exactly ?
2. Other banks don't have any problem ?
3. What if you browse preset with Enc 2, 3 or 4, it should jump over preset 3 ?
4. Can you browse this preset with the save menu. Menu->Save->Bank->Funky12.BNK then browse the preset name.. The difference is that in this case only the preset name is read.
5. Rename the bank on your computer (Funky13.BNK for example) , than copy it beside the other one on the PreenFM. Same problem when loading preset 3 from Funky13.BNK on the preen ?

Thanks for helping me to understand,

Xavier


Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: kuzma_p on January 14, 2014, 08:49:11 AM
Weird. When PreenFM2 is powered by wall supply everything works like a charm. Even more: when i connect USB cable to 5v adapter everything works fine too. PreenFM2 was disconnected from MIDI and PC. PreenFM2 crashes when is powered via PC -> USB.
Gonna test further this evening.
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: Xavier on January 14, 2014, 09:27:08 AM
New thread created from messages about this problem.

The 5V provided by your PC can be too weak for the preenFM2.
Is it a laptop ?
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: Xavier on January 14, 2014, 09:29:56 AM
Or it can be because of weird/parasite USB midi bytes ? which would explain why your stack targets new midi byte procedure....

Let me know if you find something new.
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: Xavier on January 14, 2014, 09:44:16 AM

To isolate the issue, can you try to remove JMP2, so that the USB does not power anymore the PreenFM, put JMP1 on.
Plug an USB cable to your computer AND the power suply DC.

Is it still crashing ?
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: 6581punk on January 14, 2014, 02:16:24 PM
Could it be active sensing or something?
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: kuzma_p on January 14, 2014, 06:36:18 PM
OK. I've made some testing.

All my gear is connected through Zero SL mkII via MIDI. In this way usually: ZeroSL -> A -> B ...

When i connect PFM2 directly via USB with USBMidi activated (without connection with ZeroSL) everything is fine. When i connect PFM2 directly to Octatrack everything is fine too.
But when i connect PFM2 as first step in serial connection in this chain:  ZeroSL -> PFM2 -> B ... It crashes.
When i connect PFM2 in this way: ZeroSL -> Mopho -> PFM2 it crashes but little later.
When i connect PFM2 in this way: ZeroSL -> Roland AJ2 -> PFM2 it crashes even more later for the first time (next  time it crashes right after preset 2) . But it crashes nevertheless.
ZeroSL -> Roland AJ2 -> Mopho -> PFM2 — with same result

Then i disabled MIDI Clock Out on Zero SL and .. surprise .. crashing is gone. By the way, ZSL doesn't emit any clock pulses. None of my gear receives them.

So, it seems that PFM2 can't handle this signal from Zero Sl mkII. I've switched OFF this parameter so everything works fine now.
 
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: 6581punk on January 14, 2014, 08:14:56 PM
I'm sure I had some weirdness with my Novation SL zero once upon a time. It's in a box now.
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: Xavier on January 14, 2014, 11:25:08 PM
Thanks for the aditionnal information.

That seems to be a bug in the PreenFM2. Whatever the midi info are, it should not crash.
I'll try to find information about the ZeroSL midi clock out.

Xavier
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: kuzma_p on January 15, 2014, 07:38:27 AM
I'll try to listen Zero SL's output with MidiOX today.
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: Xavier on January 15, 2014, 08:33:22 AM

That would be awesome  :)
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: kuzma_p on January 15, 2014, 03:14:38 PM
Only stuff i managed to catch

Have to say, when i allow Octatrack's clock to send data PFM2 freezes too, while listing FUNKY12 presets
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: Xavier on January 15, 2014, 07:55:03 PM

Thanks a lot for your quick responses.
Yes midiclock while browsing this bank crashes the Preen... I could reproduce that.

Will fix.
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: Xavier on January 15, 2014, 09:40:25 PM

Let me know if the just uploaded 0.9p actually fix the problem.
Thanks again for the report and investigation.
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: kuzma_p on January 16, 2014, 07:32:42 PM
Everything works now
Title: Re: Freeze when browsing Funky12.BNK bank
Post by: Xavier on January 16, 2014, 08:11:35 PM

 :D