PreenFM Forum

PreenFM => PreenFM2 => Topic started by: kroutshev on November 13, 2014, 12:21:34 AM

Title: [SOLVED]Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 13, 2014, 12:21:34 AM
Hi,
 i have made a mistake last night : i have connected a power supply too high in voltage for the preenfm2 first run board.
Now i have a screen with few whites and black squares. Regulator 7805 was very hot. I have tested it and same voltage in input and output.
I have replaced it with a new one. Now i have 10 v in input and 5,2V at output.
But still strange screen with indications.
Where i can find reference voltage to check which components are out of service please ?
Thanks for your help.
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 13, 2014, 09:36:24 AM
Hi

I have tested it and same voltage in input and output.

What voltage did you get at the output ? 10V ?
(To understand what did the composant received).

I have replaced it with a new one. Now i have 10 v in input and 5,2V at output.
But still strange screen with indications.
Where i can find reference voltage to check which components are out of service please ?
Thanks for your help.

Any picture would help ?
Does your preenfm2 still make sound ?
Does the display change when you turn encoder or press buttons ?

Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 13, 2014, 09:44:11 AM
Hi Xavier,
When i had the wrong power supply it was 18V.

About sound i havn't tested it and the display doesn't change when i turn encoder.
I will post a picture this evening.
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 13, 2014, 09:54:03 PM
Here's my blank screen :

Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 13, 2014, 10:20:54 PM
and unfortunaly no sound  :-[
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 13, 2014, 10:22:05 PM

I started a reply... then i had a doubt.
It's a preenfm1 no ? not a 2...
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 13, 2014, 10:30:45 PM
No it's the number 2 !
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 13, 2014, 10:32:43 PM

Sorry, the preenfm1 had no 7805 regulator  ::)

So have you checked the second regulator ?
http://www.mouser.fr/Search/ProductDetail.aspx?R=LD1117V33Cvirtualkey51120000virtualkey511-LD1117V33C
5v->3.3V
The STM32F4 (MCU) is powered by this 3.3V.
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 13, 2014, 10:44:14 PM
Ok let's go
7805 : Input 10.6 V Output 4.93
LD1117  Input 4,87 Output 3,28

The 7805 is hot and not the second regulator.
It seems correct !
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 13, 2014, 10:48:28 PM

OK, next step is to try to reflash the bootlader and the firmware.
http://ixox.fr/preenfm2/build-it/burn-firmware/


Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 13, 2014, 10:53:18 PM
ok let's go i'm coming back soon :-)
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 13, 2014, 11:18:40 PM
Problem  with dfu
C:\Documents and Settings\Papa Ours.MINIMOI\Mes documents\Téléchargements\preenf
m>dfu-util -a0 -d 0x0483:0xdf11 -D p2_boot_1.11.bin -R -s 0x8000000
dfu-util - (C) 2007-2008 by OpenMoko Inc.
This program is Free Software and has ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY

dfu-util: invalid option -- s
Usage: dfu-util [options] ...
  -h --help                     Print this help message
  -V --version                  Print the version number
  -l --list                     List the currently attached DFU capable USB devi
ces
  -d --device vendor:product    Specify Vendor/Product ID of DFU device
  -p --path bus-port. ... .port Specify path to DFU device
  -c --cfg config_nr            Specify the Configuration of DFU device
  -i --intf intf_nr             Specify the DFU Interface number
  -a --alt alt                  Specify the Altsetting of the DFU Interface
                                by name or by number
  -t --transfer-size            Specify the number of bytes per USB Transfer
  -U --upload file              Read firmware from device into <file>
  -D --download file            Write firmware from <file> into device
  -R --reset                    Issue USB Reset signalling once we're finished
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 13, 2014, 11:21:09 PM
What version do you use ?
dfu-util -V
You need 0.6 or 0.7 if i remember correctly....

Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 13, 2014, 11:25:02 PM
v 0.1 ...
but i can't reach dfu.org !!
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 13, 2014, 11:29:02 PM

Hmm... their site is down.
I attached the v0.7 binaries to this message.
... And i go to bed. I'll read your result tomorrow.
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 13, 2014, 11:29:52 PM
It's ok now i have found the correct version in my hard disk.
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 13, 2014, 11:31:01 PM
ok thank you :-)
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 13, 2014, 11:34:56 PM
Bootloader and Firmware updated successfuly but still blank screen :-(
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 14, 2014, 09:31:09 AM
Ok Xavier,
 i have plugged my usb key and no discovering from my computer ... it seems that usb key is dead !
You confirm that wihout key it's normal that i have blank screen ?
Thanks !
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 14, 2014, 09:34:59 AM
Bootloader and Firmware updated successfuly but still blank screen :-(

The first screenshot looked like a blank screen.
This second one is different.

I need to know if the MCU works. Several solution:
. Does it make sound ? plug a keyboard or be sure that the boot sound is activated.
. Is it recognized as a midi device ?
. Does the squares on the display change when you press the menu button then back... (or any other keyboard/encoder manipulation).
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 14, 2014, 09:36:41 AM
Ok Xavier,
 i have plugged my usb key and no discovering from my computer ... it seems that usb key is dead !
You confirm that wihout key it's normal that i have blank screen ?
Thanks !

Oh yes, i didn't think about the Usb key...
If it received 18V, that's bad for it.

I confirm that without the key the firmware freeze with a screen full of white squares....
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 14, 2014, 10:52:31 AM
Bootloader and Firmware updated successfuly but still blank screen :-(

The first screenshot looked like a blank screen.
This second one is different.

I need to know if the MCU works. Several solution:
. Does it make sound ? plug a keyboard or be sure that the boot sound is activated.
. Is it recognized as a midi device ?
. Does the squares on the display change when you press the menu button then back... (or any other keyboard/encoder manipulation).
No sound, i have tested every midi channel !
No change on the display when i use encoder.

I search for a new usb key next evening to test it whith a new one !
I will let you know asap.
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 14, 2014, 11:32:42 AM
. Does it make sound ? plug a keyboard or be sure that the boot sound is activated.
. Is it recognized as a midi device ?
. Does the squares on the display change when you press the menu button then back... (or any other keyboard/encoder manipulation).
No sound, i have tested every midi channel !
No change on the display when i use encoder.

Without USB key that's the expected behaviour: the firmware is frozen, so no sound and no display update....
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 14, 2014, 12:36:40 PM
Yes i know but i answered to your questions before i give you informations about dead usb key !
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 14, 2014, 10:39:25 PM
Hi Xavier,
 bad news, i have filled the new usb key with files but screen of my burning preenfm2 stay without characters.
I have tried to sequence it and unfortunaly still no sound, when i move encoder or pot, no reaction on the screen ...
I have tested my usb key into my computer after try it into my preenfm2 and it's still detected by computer.
here the screen :
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 15, 2014, 12:22:11 AM
What model of USB key is it ?
Is it formatted with FAT file system ?
Does it contain the "pfm2/" directory ?

Regarding your display:
Is it exactly like on the picture ( mix of black and whit) ? Or is il full of white square ?
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 15, 2014, 12:26:42 AM
It's a transcend 4 Go key.
Yes formated with fat32 and /pfm2 directory.
Yes the display is like the picture ... black and white squares !
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 15, 2014, 11:06:19 AM

That's strange.
Because if it's the LCD only, you should be able to play sounds.
And if it's the MCU board you should not be able to upload firmware.

Have you tried powering it with a USB cable ?

Does it play sound if you unplug the display ?

Can you enter bootloader ? Press a key while powering the preen.



Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 15, 2014, 11:51:04 PM
Hi Xavier,
 
Have you tried powering it with a USB cable ?
Yes and same behaviour.

Does it play sound if you unplug the display ?
Yes you can listen "plop".

Can you enter bootloader ? Press a key while powering the preen.
Here the result :
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 16, 2014, 09:41:37 AM
Does it play sound if you unplug the display ?
Yes you can listen "plop".

I would be 100% confident the MCU board is fully working if you could hear some FM sound after the "plop".
By pressing and holding INST+one of the left buttons or by enabling the "boot sound:" in the settings....
(plugin a keyboard also should work)

I can send you another LCD. I have a few in stock, and don't use them anymore.
They all have the headers already soldered... So i need to know what type of header you use (low profile or regular).
(if you don't know take a picture like this http://ixox.fr/preenfm2/the-pcb-r5/pfm2_36/#main )

Xavier
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 16, 2014, 09:49:48 PM
Hi Xavier,
 ok i have tested this "By pressing and holding INST+one of the left buttons", only "plop" and absolutly no FM sound ... here the picture of what we can see on the screen when i hold INST and left button :
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 16, 2014, 10:02:23 PM
And for the spacer for the screen you can view the photo :
It's very nice from you to propose a screen, in regard of previous picture it seems that mine is out of order.
About MCU how can i know if it's ok ?
Thanks again Xavier.
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 16, 2014, 11:02:30 PM

I've just PMed you.
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 25, 2014, 05:21:23 PM
Ok Xavier, with your new lcd it's better but now the problem is with my usb key. I have to find another one because the new one that i use is no compatible !!
The cer40 is in good state and don't need to be replaced.
But however i will pay the one that y have sent me in case of future problem.
Thanks again for your precious help !
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 26, 2014, 11:18:37 PM
Ok Xavier, with your new lcd it's better but now the problem is with my usb key. I have to find another one because the new one that i use is no compatible !!
The cer40 is in good state and don't need to be replaced.
But however i will pay the one that y have sent me in case of future problem.
Thanks again for your precious help !

So if that's the LCD only, i don't understand why you didn't get any sound.
Are you DAC workging ? Do you have sound now ?

Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 28, 2014, 02:53:02 PM
If my usb key is dead, i can have sound ?
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 28, 2014, 03:01:39 PM
If my usb key is dead, i can have sound ?

If you're USB Key is dead, the preenfm2 freezes with its display full of yellow squares.
If you can boot and don't get any sound, you may have damaged your mcp4922.
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on November 28, 2014, 09:08:15 PM
achhhhhhh, in that case ... it seems that the mcp is dead too ...  :-[
i have to managed to find another one ...
Maybe other parts are dead too ...
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on November 29, 2014, 06:59:00 PM
I'm not surprised the DACs are powered by the 5V.
I can ship you 2 mcp4922 DACs...

Can you confirm midi work ?
Midi over DIN5.
To Confirm your 6N137 octocopler work.
A note is blinking on the display when it receives midi note on.

Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on December 01, 2014, 01:38:12 PM
Hi Xavier,
 i will test midi tonight, about DAC shipping, i think that i've got some of them in my stock ...
I will confirm you when i'll have checked at home.
Thanks again for your help !!
Title: Re: Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: kroutshev on December 10, 2014, 11:30:51 AM
Hi Xavier,
 my preenfm2 is reborn :-). I have received my new usb key and he has refound his voice !!
The DAC's were ok, no replacement needed !
Thanks a lot for you help !
Title: Re: [SOLVED]Bad power supply with high voltage.
Post by: Xavier on December 10, 2014, 08:55:56 PM

Good news  :D
Thanks for the update.