Author Topic: Loading patches via Sysex  (Read 2251 times)

smithoid

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Loading patches via Sysex
« on: November 14, 2012, 11:28:10 PM »
Hi Xavier
Just finished building my Preen and it's sounding great. One problem though when I try to load the patch bank via sysex. All I get is "waiting SysEx..." and nothing changes when I send the file. Have tried MidiOx, C6 and SendSX and none seem to work. Midi data is definitely flowing as I can play sounds via MidiOx online keyboard. Have also tried fiddling with buffer settings but still no good. Any thoughts please?
Cheers
Paul

smithoid

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Loading patches via Sysex
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2012, 11:29:56 PM »
Using firmware 2.0 by the way

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1105
    • View Profile
Re: Loading patches via Sysex
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2012, 10:26:42 AM »
Hi Paul,

If nothing changes it means that the PreenFM does not receive the SysEx starting bytes.
Could you try with the demo of Reaper http://www.reaper.fm/

1. Chose a track. Be sure the midi out targets your Preen by playing a few notes.
2. Set the Preen in waiting "Sysex..." mode.
3. Drag and drop your sysex file in the Reaper track
4. Play ithe track

Other question that could help, does it work with a single patch sysex ?

Xavier

smithoid

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Loading patches via Sysex
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2012, 12:04:16 PM »
Just tried with Reaper as per your instruction (that is a seriously complicated program!) and it does not work, that is no change to "waiting SysEx" screen. BUT individual patches DO work loaded either from that SysEx screen or directly into the patch. Help!!!

smithoid

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Loading patches via Sysex
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2012, 12:06:00 PM »
Is there perhaps something wrong with the file? I have downloaded several times just in case

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1105
    • View Profile
Re: Loading patches via Sysex
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2012, 01:18:29 PM »

Yes, maybe a file problem.
Where did you find the file you use ?

smithoid

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Loading patches via Sysex
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2012, 01:45:06 PM »
From this forum in the "sticky" section at the top

smithoid

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Loading patches via Sysex
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2012, 01:50:11 PM »
What should I see on screen when patches loading?

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1105
    • View Profile
Re: Loading patches via Sysex
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2012, 01:54:54 PM »

It starts displaying a counter : 1/128 2/128 etc....
Until 128/128.

I've just sent you an email with the bank file in case you have a corrupted file and that your browser use your cache.

Xavier