Author Topic: [Fixed] OS not finding /pfm2 directory  (Read 1458 times)

matrix12x

  • Team Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
[Fixed] OS not finding /pfm2 directory
« on: March 09, 2014, 05:47:46 AM »
Hi,
My PreenFM2 seems to be working fine, but if I go to upgrade via the usb drive, the PreenFM2 OS is not finding the /pfm2 directory on the thumb drive. any ideas?

1) I made sure I created the directory and put the newest os files on there.

2) I can access the USB drive while it is installed in the PreenFM 2 after booting and holding down a key, then selecting the correct menu options.

« Last Edit: March 10, 2014, 09:45:21 AM by Xavier »

6581punk

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: OS not finding /pfm2 directory
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2014, 04:40:19 PM »
Did you format the drive with FAT or NTFS?

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1234
    • View Profile
Re: OS not finding /pfm2 directory
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2014, 11:29:19 PM »

Yes, the drive must be formated with FAT.
(2) makes me thing it's correctly formated.

> the PreenFM2 OS is not finding the /pfm2
You have the "No '/pfm2' directory"
message in the "flash from stick" menu of  bootloader, right ?

Can you read, play and save your presets in the preen ?

matrix12x

  • Team Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: OS not finding /pfm2 directory
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2014, 12:40:54 AM »
Apparently I could not load the presets.

For some reason it was FAT 16, not FAT32. I reformatted and it seems fine.

I was able to update the OS from the USB stick fine. Thanks! :-)
« Last Edit: March 10, 2014, 03:03:49 AM by matrix12x »

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1234
    • View Profile
Re: OS not finding /pfm2 directory
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2014, 09:45:06 AM »

Thanks for the feedback...

Kentucky

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [Fixed] OS not finding /pfm2 directory
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2014, 10:34:49 PM »
hey there,

I think i've got the same problem : i can't load the presets i've put in the pfm2 folder (DX7 sysex unzipped files from the download link) ; i can access my usb drive (formatted in FAT32 beforehand), but when i press Menu > Load >SyseX i get a "Waiting SysEx..." message... and then nothing

did i miss something ?  guess so, i'm new at using this  ;)

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1234
    • View Profile
Re: [Fixed] OS not finding /pfm2 directory
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2014, 11:02:31 PM »
did i miss something ?  guess so, i'm new at using this  ;)

Yes  ;)
To access your DX7 sysex files, go in the menu Load>DX7
Then choose your bank, then browse the presets.

You should not have Menu>Load>Sysex !! This is now useless. The preenfm2 is always ready to receive success.
What firmware do you have ?
Seems like you flashed an old one.


Kentucky

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [Fixed] OS not finding /pfm2 directory
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2014, 09:13:51 PM »

You should not have Menu>Load>Sysex !! This is now useless. The preenfm2 is always ready to receive success.
What firmware do you have ?
Seems like you flashed an old one.


Well, you know... Since i thought i had to flash the bootloader & firmware the DFU way, i flashed the 0.9 version packed with the bootloader. Don't ask me why, that's the "Jumper 3 trap"  ;)

Anyway : firmware upgraded from USB (found the file transfer speed was good), DX7 banks loaded, everything's fine, sounds great. Now i'm up to link it with my BCR controler and try some NRPN learning  :P

Thanks again Xavier, best consumer service ever  ;)

pld

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: [Fixed] OS not finding /pfm2 directory
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2014, 10:44:37 AM »
The preenfm2 is always ready to receive success.
And it certainly deserves lots of success. SCNR :)

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1234
    • View Profile
Re: [Fixed] OS not finding /pfm2 directory
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2014, 11:10:17 AM »
@Kentucky : great i'm glad everything works fine...  :)

The preenfm2 is always ready to receive success.
And it certainly deserves lots of success. SCNR :)

OOpps....  ::)  but thanks  :D
Of course you should read : "The preenfm2 is always ready to receive SysEx".
« Last Edit: June 04, 2014, 11:11:57 AM by Xavier »