Author Topic: [SOLVED] Various issues with my build (from a beginner)  (Read 6246 times)

Nystagmus

• Team member
    • View Profile
[SOLVED] Various issues with my build (from a beginner)
« on: December 23, 2014, 07:02:21 PM »
Right now,when the FM2 starts up, the OLED display shows only squares. I haven't managed to get a good connection between the header and the display, using only the provided spacers.  Instead I have to add a pair of additional spacers, without these the display doesn't light up. This might have something to do with how I attached the low profile header. I tried to follow the instructions, but maybe the header wasn't attached correctly. I became a bit unsure about the perpendicular placement.

Also, I am not very experienced with projects like this, so I made a couple of mistakes. Somehow I was able to damage the upper pad of the second 1 M resistor, the one next to the 68 ohm resistor. After looking at the Kicad file (which didn't seem to show a very similar version of the PCB, although not identical to the one I received in my kit) I soldered the upper pin of the second resistor to the bottom pin of the other 1 M resistor. Was that correct?

Finally I think I have some issues with the ICS and the DIP sockets. The PreenF405 was almost impossible to fit into the socket, so the "socket part" connecting to PB7 was damaged, I am not sure if the connection works. Some of the legs of the other ICs became very loose when I tried to straighten them up and fit them into the sockets, so I think there are issues there as well. I actually was able to get mumbo jumbo characters as well as a frozen startup screen form times to times when I tried to make the ICs fit by pressing them down and taking them out and put them back again...

So, a lot of problems to solve. And yes, I am a beginner that made a lot of stupid mistakes. But I would be extremely thankful if you could tell me how to proceed in the troubleshooting.