Author Topic: PC/Mac Editor version 2.00  (Read 17039 times)

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1216
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor (nothing ready yet)
« Reply #15 on: June 24, 2014, 09:16:32 PM »

1. Thanks  ;)
2. Yes, but could be done in the pfm2 firmware directly.

Final question : I'm afraid it won't work with ableton live. Editor <=> preenfm2 communication is 100% NRPN.

Xavier

toneburst

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor (nothing ready yet)
« Reply #16 on: June 25, 2014, 11:11:45 AM »
Thanks for the replies, Xavier.

Cool re. patch randomisation. Would be great to see that in the synth itself, in fact.

Shame about Live. Is there any way to add an independent MIDI I/O to the VST plugin version of the editor, so that it could be used in Live?
http://ctrlr.org is cross-platform, is based on Juce, like your editor, and has this feature. Might be worth considering, as Live is a popular DAW (and my only DAW, for some years now, after experimenting with various versions of Cubase, Logic and Reason).

Cheers,

a|x
« Last Edit: June 26, 2014, 02:26:26 PM by toneburst »

bramsluiter

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor (nothing ready yet)
« Reply #17 on: June 26, 2014, 12:03:18 PM »
Looks great! When can we expect a beta version for testing?? :-)

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1216
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor (nothing ready yet)
« Reply #18 on: June 27, 2014, 11:11:19 AM »

Will share a Work in progress hopefully soon  ;)


toneburst

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor (nothing ready yet)
« Reply #19 on: June 27, 2014, 11:15:53 AM »
Great!
Maybe I'll have got around to building my PreenFM2 kit by then… ;)

a|x

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1216
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor: work in progress available
« Reply #20 on: June 27, 2014, 11:44:50 PM »

Just uploaded some early binaries.
See first post of this thread for the known limits.

Let me know if that does not work at all.

Xavier


kuzma_p

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor: work in progress available
« Reply #21 on: June 28, 2014, 01:23:52 AM »
Great! Thanks!

martindunne

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor: work in progress available
« Reply #22 on: June 28, 2014, 02:11:34 PM »
is saying pfm2editor exe is not a valid win32 application?

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1216
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor: work in progress available
« Reply #23 on: June 28, 2014, 06:00:50 PM »
is saying pfm2editor exe is not a valid win32 application?

Ah ? Not good.
What version of windows do you have ? 32 or 64 bits ?

martindunne

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor: work in progress available
« Reply #24 on: June 28, 2014, 06:31:18 PM »
32 bits windows xp sp3

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1216
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor: work in progress available
« Reply #25 on: June 28, 2014, 10:30:32 PM »
I did not know that visual 2012 c++ application don't run by default on Windows XP:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/11305633/xxxxxx-exe-is-not-a-valid-win32-application

Seems to be a setting to modify.
I'll change that for version 0.2.

XAvier
« Last Edit: June 28, 2014, 10:32:30 PM by Xavier »

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1216
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor: 0.2
« Reply #26 on: June 29, 2014, 10:16:54 PM »

Let me know if you're more lucky with 0.2.
It may require you put the Vstudio dll in the same directory as the exe. The dll that is downloadable from the same place as the exe.

Xavier

funkyfli

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor: 0.2
« Reply #27 on: July 03, 2014, 05:54:57 PM »
Awesome!  :)
Very Easy to use.

Some initial observations: (V0.2)
It would be nice to have a MIDI input connection for a keyboard/controller.  I have the keyboard connected to the DIN.  This might be causing the following stuck note issue...
If I play notes while adjusting a dial (IM1 etc.), I eventually get a stuck note which cannot be turned off.  Could be due to 2 competing MIDI inputs.

The Operator Frequency Ratio dial is very sensitive.  (Mouse Wheel as well) Could that be reduced?
The Free Env. 2 Silence node:  After dragging it to 0, it cannot be dragged out again.
I also noticed that with Algo 1:  After setting IM1 and IM2 to 0, IM3 still has a big effect on the sound.  Shouldn't it have no effect?

Martin.

funkyfli

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor: 0.2
« Reply #28 on: July 03, 2014, 06:12:11 PM »
Doh!  Just noticed I can select multiple inputs... no stuck notes so far...

Martin.

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1216
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm2 Editor: 0.2
« Reply #29 on: July 03, 2014, 11:15:00 PM »

Great... Thanks for the feedback.

You can use CTRL + Drag to change slowly the values...

I'll have a look to see if it's possible for the mouse wheel to make 1 increment.
And the 0 stuck point is definitely a bug.


Xavier