Author Topic: Patch Randomiser  (Read 5026 times)

toneburst

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Patch Randomiser
« on: June 20, 2014, 03:00:02 PM »
Sorry for the probably stupid question, but does the PreenFM2 have a patch randomiser function?

a|x

kuzma_p

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2014, 03:05:56 PM »
Nope

toneburst

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2014, 03:24:45 PM »
Shame. Thanks for the quick reply, anyway.

a|x

6581punk

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2014, 11:36:36 PM »
It could be written as an external tool or be implemented in an editor.

But with FM random patches tend to be very unmusical.

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1584
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2014, 08:45:22 PM »

Seems like i'll have to work on that one day.

Could be written internally also.
But it's not obvious.
As 6581punk said,  pure random would lead to 99.9% of unusable sound.

Xavier

tIB

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2014, 12:14:53 AM »
The mb6582 has an interesting implementation- you can choose which sections to randomize, like oscs, modulations, filter, seq etc. Would be interesting if a similar approach was adapted to the preen engine, and would be a good solution to the unusable outcome problem.

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1584
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2014, 10:15:50 AM »
The mb6582 has an interesting implementation- you can choose which sections to randomize, like oscs, modulations, filter, seq etc. Would be interesting if a similar approach was adapted to the preen engine, and would be a good solution to the unusable outcome problem.

That sounds like a great idea. Thanks...   :)

martindunne

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2014, 11:45:54 AM »
TubeOhms Ambika patch editor has check boxes nxt to each parameter so you can choose which parts you would like the randomise button to effect

toneburst

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2014, 01:09:54 PM »
Yes, I was thinking of something like the randomiser on the MIDIbox/SammichFM. It does come up with some interesting sounds, though, yes, generally not 'musical' ones, it has to be said. I've just sold my SammichFM to a member of another forum, and the random patch tool is the thing I'm going to miss most about it. Spend many a happy hour creating weird over-modulated SFX and percussion noises with it.

Maybe Xavier [edited: sorry, I got your name wrong - too many forums…]  will roll some kind of randomiser into the editor he's working on.

a|x
« Last Edit: June 25, 2014, 11:02:35 AM by toneburst »

tIB

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2014, 10:28:33 PM »
The mb6582 has an interesting implementation- you can choose which sections to randomize, like oscs, modulations, filter, seq etc. Would be interesting if a similar approach was adapted to the preen engine, and would be a good solution to the unusable outcome problem.

That sounds like a great idea. Thanks...   :)

No sir, than you!  8)

6581punk

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2014, 11:40:49 PM »
Morph option?

Select two patches and gradually cross fade into another (you would select L:R percentage 100:0 50:50 etc).

pld

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #11 on: June 24, 2014, 10:01:06 AM »
I forget where it came up, but one complication for morphing is how to handle the mod matrix.
But an audio cross-fade should work with two instruments on the same midi channel :P

6581punk

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #12 on: June 24, 2014, 09:20:13 PM »
Well, it was more of a "patch load" option. You select two patches, then a ratio between the two and then can preview the result. It would have to ignore some parameters of course.

It would probably create a load of awful noise :)


toneburst

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2014, 11:03:42 AM »
It would probably create a load of awful noise :)

Excellent….. ;)

a|x

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1584
    • View Profile
Re: Patch Randomiser
« Reply #14 on: June 27, 2014, 11:10:44 AM »

Usefull thread, thanks all.  :)
I don't have much free time currently, but I'll first finish the Editor then back to firmware with the randomizer as high priority.

Xavier