Author Topic: (compatibility?) questions  (Read 5317 times)

lensflare

• Team member
    • View Profile
(compatibility?) questions
« on: November 30, 2017, 04:06:44 PM »
Hi all,

I am new in the PREENFM world, and just waiting for Van Daal to deliver my brand new white PFM2.

actually, I am programming (fm) synthesis using a (limited) Volca FM.

now, I have just a few questions in order to be prepared when the new baby will arrive in my studio, to start programming quickly:

1) Oscillator amplitude: in the Volce there is a feature to apply an oscillator amplitude modulation (both on Carrier and Modulators) by LFO. is this feature or one similar also in PFM? if yes, which is the name? if not, there is a way to obtain the same result or will be possibily present in a future FW release?

2) Pitch modulation: the same as over: it is possible to modulate the pitch of the carriers  by LFO or by Envelope.
are these features or some similar also in PFM? if yes, which are the names? if not, there is a way to obtain the same result or will be possibily present in a future FW release?

3) which is in the EDITOR the feature "all OP freq harmonic" and its difference respect "all op freq"?

I tried to retrieve these informations in the various manuals, in the website, but unfortunately without success :(

thank you very much for the answers!!! and... EXCELLENT WORK with the PREENFM!!!!

Xavier

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: (compatibility?) questions
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2017, 07:19:23 PM »
Hi,

1) You do that with the preenfm by modifying the MI (modulation indices) between operators.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frequency_modulation#Modulation_index
For the carrier operator (lower level, their output is the sound) you modify the MIX parameters.

2) Use the matrix and targets the o[1-6]Fq params. They are the operator 1 to 6 frequency.
Use o*Fq for all at the same time.