Author Topic: [Solved] Just started soldering.. am i doing it right?  (Read 5666 times)

mbng

• Team member
    • View Profile
[Solved] Just started soldering.. am i doing it right?
« on: January 29, 2018, 08:33:25 PM »
Greetings from Sweden!

I´m a total newbie and this is my first DIY project, so obviously i have some very basic-level questions.

I´m following the guide here: http://ixox.fr/preenfm2/build-it/thebuild/

At the first step i´m supposed to solder 10 * 100nF capacitors and one 330nF, however the 330nF one has the text 334 instead and is yellow (instead of blue in the guide), and the 100nF ones are marked 104.

Small differences, but these items were the ones delivered so i soldered them in place - i hope that´s ok? I´m not familiar with electronics at this level of detail.

Silly question two - does it matter which direction the capacitors have when soldered in place? Like, does it matter if the text point left or right.. I´m guessing it don´t since there were no markings of any kind and the "legs" are the same length, and nothing was mentioned in the guide.

Really looking forward to using my PreenFM2 so i don´t want to mess this build up so thanks a lot in advance for your help!  :)
« Last Edit: February 20, 2018, 02:57:09 PM by mbng »

AnoNeko

• Team member
    • View Profile
Re: Just started soldering.. am i doing it right? (n00b warning!)
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2018, 10:07:42 PM »
hi and congratulations!  just finished mine the other day minus a working midi din

I thought the plastic caps were ok either way round but I copied the images

the round caps have polarity markings and a shorter negative pin though, just those, the diodes and the ic chips have to be right way round as far as I know

mbng

• Team member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2018, 09:41:03 AM »
Hi AnoNeko!

Thanks for taking the time to help me out. And now i feel a bit more confident to continue with the construction when i get home from work later today.