Author Topic: eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument new mode  (Read 672 times)

vabs

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument new mode
« on: January 17, 2020, 01:18:31 AM »
is it possible to control each instrument with each cv individually?

like four seq/oct in each cv input to control four instruments
« Last Edit: March 08, 2020, 07:24:02 PM by Xavier »

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2020, 08:22:03 AM »

No it's not.
Only the first input can be used as a gate, and the second one as a V/Oct.
This same signal can trigger several instruments though.

vurt

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2020, 09:16:13 PM »

This same signal can trigger several instruments though.

How is this done? Thinking about getting the euro version.

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2020, 10:27:09 PM »
The CV gate can trigger the following instruments :
Single instrument : "1", "2", "3" or "4"
Or multiple : "12", "123", "1234".
You select that in the settings menu.



vurt

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2020, 10:32:03 PM »
Ah so in unison? yes, that's of course a no-brainer... just put the same midi channel on them and it should work too..

would be interesting if it could play the 4 channels you have available in sequence instead, perhaps even randomized.  Or perhaps if the 4 available channels could be split in zones on 1 channel so you have access to all 4 patches from the 1 CV channel...
« Last Edit: February 02, 2020, 10:39:28 PM by vurt »

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2020, 10:37:34 AM »

Ah so in unison? yes, that's of course a no-brainer... just put the same midi channel on them and it should work too..

Except that there's no midi channel with "CV in" ;)
But that's the same idea.

would be interesting if it could play the 4 channels you have available in sequence instead, perhaps even randomized.  Or perhaps if the 4 available channels could be split in zones on 1 channel so you have access to all 4 patches from the 1 CV channel...

Yes would be interesting and easy to implement.

https://github.com/Ixox/preenfm2/blob/master/src/synth/Synth.cpp#L168
Add this line anywhere in the file:
Code: [Select]
int triggeredTimbre = 0;
And replace case 7 :
Code: [Select]
            case 7:
                timbreToTrigger[timbreIndex++] = (triggeredTimbre++) % 4;
            break;

Then if you select "1234" would  triggered all instruments but one after the other...

Would also be easy to split depending on the midiNote evaluated in the "CV in V/Oct"... cvin.getMidiNote() si also available.

« Last Edit: March 08, 2020, 02:51:29 PM by Xavier »

vurt

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2020, 02:27:47 PM »
You're of course correct, there's no midi channel  ;D

Would be really cool too see these things implemented! Glad to see such creative community and developing for this machine btw.. makes me more confident to buy one. its usually the first thing i google for when i get interested in new gear; name + firmware and then i look if things are added.

Quote
Then if you select "1234" would  triggered all instruments but one after the other...
make it CV-selectable so we can choose via voltage which instrument is playing ;) it might sound messy to do, but there are modules like voltage block where you easily can select a specific voltage for something.. i use it for Disting and its sample player to select a specific sample via CV.


« Last Edit: February 03, 2020, 02:35:40 PM by vurt »

solipsvs

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2020, 02:17:34 AM »
im feeling this idea too.

served

  • Team Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
    • Van Daal Electronics
Re: preenfm eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2020, 08:10:45 AM »
Great ideas!

Xavier can you implement this in the Settings menu, to turn in On/Off. This would make it very interesting!

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2020, 02:25:19 AM »
Yes sounds good. In a couple of week when I’m back home.  ;)

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2020, 07:11:40 PM »
Hi,

I added 3 cv to instrument options in the following firmware :
seq : instrument 1, 2, 3, 4  but one after each other.
rand : instrument 1,2, 3, 4 randomly
cv3 : cv3 input value select instrument depending on its value.

Please let me know if that works for you, specially "cv3", that i did not try.
https://github.com/Ixox/preenfm2/releases/download/2.11/p2_cv_2.11a.bin

Xavier
« Last Edit: March 08, 2020, 09:02:59 PM by Xavier »

vurt

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: preenfm eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2020, 07:41:38 PM »
Hi,

I added 3 cv to instrument options in this firmware :
seq : instrument 1, 2, 3, 4  but one after each other.
rand : instrument 1,2, 3, 4 randomly
cv3 : cv3 input value select instrument depending on its value.

Please let me know if that works for you, specially "cv3", that i did not try.
https://github.com/Ixox/preenfm2/releases/download/2.11/p2_cv_2.11a.bin

Xavier


I'm most likely stupid (since i've never really used the preenfm2 itself to program any sounds), but i could not find anything that had to do with changing instrument via CV in this FW.. What is it supposed to be called?

I went into MTRX. Source (CV3). Dest - couldn't really find anything new there.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2020, 07:47:51 PM by vurt »

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
Re: eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument new mode
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2020, 08:53:05 PM »

It can be selected in the Menu.
MENU > Tools > Set > "CV inst".
The last 3 choices are the new ones.

vurt

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument new mode
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2020, 09:46:38 PM »

It can be selected in the Menu.
MENU > Tools > Set > "CV inst".
The last 3 choices are the new ones.

Ah, thanks!

This is a really wonderful addition, love it, so much fun :D

There was a problem with stuck notes if any Env had a Sustain higher than 0. But i think i have managed to solve this. It seems to be dependent on the eurorack sequencer and gate length. Low gate length from the sequencer and then setting it to a high setting for PreenFm2 (CV Gate %) seems to work, mine is set to 70% and the lowest possible on the eurorack sequencer.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2020, 11:58:39 PM by vurt »

solipsvs

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: eurorack 2.11 cv to instrument new mode
« Reply #14 on: March 09, 2020, 12:23:28 AM »
awesome!  i can see this being very useful.

do automations sent to the individual voices still work while using this?