Author Topic: [fixed in 0.96] PreenFM3 DX7 problem (0.94)  (Read 261 times)

Megalomidiac

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
[fixed in 0.96] PreenFM3 DX7 problem (0.94)
« on: November 08, 2020, 07:22:29 PM »
I don't know if it is a bug or I am missing something:

If I load a DX7 preset, there is no sound at first.
I have to go to the voices menu and turn them from 1 to 2 (or higher) to hear something.
If I then turn it back to 1, there now will be sound (1 voice of course then).

But I cannot get polyphony on the DX7 sounds if I turn up the voice number. It will be just monophonic all the time.

This problem does not occure in normal mode. If I start an empty preset, I can turn up the voice number and it will be polyphonic.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2020, 08:50:56 PM by Xavier »

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1710
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 DX7 problem (0.94)
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2020, 08:32:49 PM »
If I load a DX7 preset, there is no sound at first.
I have to go to the voices menu and turn them from 1 to 2 (or higher) to hear something.
If I then turn it back to 1, there now will be sound (1 voice of course then).

That's weird.
How many voices do you have for the other instruments ? Are they at max ?
Does it help if you decrease the number of voices for other instrument ?

But I cannot get polyphony on the DX7 sounds if I turn up the voice number. It will be just monophonic all the time.

Good catch, there's a problem with the DX7 sysex importer.
It sets the number of voice to 1 in the mixer and the sound type to MONO in the Editors (Edit->FM->Voice).
Change the later to poly to enable polyphony.

I'll take a look to have this done automatically.

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1710
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 DX7 problem (0.94)
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2020, 09:00:53 PM »

The fix will be in v095.
Keep on reporting bugs you find, thanks :)

Megalomidiac

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 DX7 problem (0.94)
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2020, 10:52:44 PM »
Thank you, the workaround with Edit->FM->Voice works.

I have reduced the other instrument's voices to 0 and then can set instrument 1 up to 16 voices.
But when loading a DX7 preset,  instrument 1's voices are reduced to 1 again and it won't sound until I set the voice numbers up (and may then reduce it to 1 again).

And I found another little bug: If you are in the Engine Menu and the voice is set to poly you should not play a chord while setting Poly->Mono.
One note will be hold then and does not even stop if you play and release the note again. Maybe there should be send a NoteOff before changing from poly to mono and vice versa.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2020, 10:58:42 PM by Megalomidiac »

Megalomidiac

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 DX7 problem (0.94)
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2020, 02:00:03 PM »
The bug with no voice playing occurs also if you use the random function, by the way;)

And another suggestion: If you are in FM edit mode, you can step through the operators.
But say you chose an algorithm with 3 OPs, the non used OPs 4-6 will also be visible.
I would find it faster and more intuitive if they would not be seen.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2020, 02:48:43 PM by Megalomidiac »

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1710
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 DX7 problem (0.94)
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2020, 09:13:54 PM »
The bug with no voice playing occurs also if you use the random function, by the way;)

yes, thanks.
I think the randomizer should not change at all the poly/mono + current number of voices.
I'll fix that.

And another suggestion: If you are in FM edit mode, you can step through the operators.
But say you chose an algorithm with 3 OPs, the non used OPs 4-6 will also be visible.
I would find it faster and more intuitive if they would not be seen.

OK i see what you mean.

Megalomidiac

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 DX7 problem (0.94)
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2020, 11:26:22 PM »
I have not only to complain.
Had finally time to noodle around with the PFM3, made a simple patch and played a little track.
Sounds really good and is much more intuitive than the PFM2.

I came very fast to results and the connections between the operators are really good to see. Much less to click until the success :)
« Last Edit: November 10, 2020, 12:14:30 AM by Megalomidiac »

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1710
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 DX7 problem (0.94)
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2020, 07:52:42 AM »
I have not only to complain.
Had finally time to noodle around with the PFM3, made a simple patch and played a little track.
Sounds really good and is much more intuitive than the PFM2.

I came very fast to results and the connections between the operators are really good to see. Much less to click until the success :)

Thanks for the feedback.  :)

But please, continue posting what you find could be better. That really helps.
If i agree, i'll fix it, if i don't i'll explain why....

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1710
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 DX7 problem (0.94)
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2020, 09:34:18 PM »
The bug with no voice playing occurs also if you use the random function, by the way;)

And another suggestion: If you are in FM edit mode, you can step through the operators.
But say you chose an algorithm with 3 OPs, the non used OPs 4-6 will also be visible.
I would find it faster and more intuitive if they would not be seen.


Could you try this firmware :
[firmware removed, i'll publish a 0.95 today]
And let me know if that fixes the different problems.

It fixes the number of voices for sure.
But i don't underrstand the mute  problem after loading, so i hope it will be fixed at the same time.


« Last Edit: November 11, 2020, 02:41:04 PM by Xavier »

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1710
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 DX7 problem (0.94)
« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2020, 06:59:17 PM »
Please try 0.95 and let me know how it goes
https://github.com/Ixox/preenfm3/releases

Voices are not modified anymore with randomize and DX7 import.

I still don't know why you cannot play any note after loading a DX7 preset.
I hope it will fix that too.

EDITED : try 0.96  ;)
« Last Edit: November 14, 2020, 12:23:27 PM by Xavier »

Megalomidiac

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: [fixed in 0.95 ?] PreenFM3 DX7 problem (0.94)
« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2020, 10:59:23 PM »
Thanks I will look at it, but unfortunately I am away from home until Sunday.

Megalomidiac

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: [fixed in 0.95 ?] PreenFM3 DX7 problem (0.94)
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2020, 05:41:20 PM »
All mentioned complains are solved with 0.96, thank you again!