Author Topic: [solved] Screen dark on FM3  (Read 166 times)

proxima

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: [solved] Screen dark on FM3
« Reply #15 on: November 22, 2020, 09:47:27 PM »
yeah I noticed that when powering it via USB, would like to update to 0.97. I just connected it with usb cable to my Imac , everything is working fine, only issue is the SD card not appearing on my computer desk

JeffS

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: [solved] Screen dark on FM3
« Reply #16 on: November 22, 2020, 09:52:59 PM »
Xavier,

Great thanks for all that.

Now I have no problem getting access to the SD card. This is the method I used. Could you tell me if this is the best way, or is there maybe something from the main FM3 menu? Either is fine of course, I just want to be sure I'm doing the right thing:

<<Power the FM3 off
Power it on while holding down the red menu button

You will get a menu. For SD card access it will say to push button 3. Do this.

Wait up to 15 seconds and you will see the image appear on the computer screen.

Again, at your own risk -- and whatever you do don't accidentally push button 1 when you're in the boot loader, LOL>>>

JeffS

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: [solved] Screen dark on FM3
« Reply #17 on: November 22, 2020, 09:55:45 PM »
Thanks Xavier!

Yes, and now I know how to successfully access the SD card over USB with my computer.

Back to making music!

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1710
    • View Profile
Re: [solved] Screen dark on FM3
« Reply #18 on: November 22, 2020, 10:00:14 PM »
@JeffS thanks for the update.


yeah I noticed that when powering it via USB, would like to update to 0.97. I just connected it with usb cable to my Imac , everything is working fine, only issue is the SD card not appearing on my computer desk

In regular usage, the computer see the preenfm as a midi device.

To see the SD card from your computer you have to enter the bootloader.
As JeffS said :
  • Power it on while holding down the red menu button
  • You will get a menu. For SD card access it will say to push button 3. Do this.
  • Wait up to 15 seconds and you will see the image appear on the computer screen.

Then copy the pfm3_0_97.bin file on the root '/' of the sd card, not in the /pfm3/ folder :)

proxima

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: [solved] Screen dark on FM3
« Reply #19 on: November 22, 2020, 10:01:50 PM »
Great, thanks Xavier !

served

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
    • Van Daal Electronics
Re: [solved] Screen dark on FM3
« Reply #20 on: November 23, 2020, 08:14:36 AM »
Great that you got it sorted!
I will post a tutorial how to open the case to the webshop.

Its very simple.
Remove: 2pcs phillips head screws on the front and 6pcs 6.35mm jack nuts on the back.

The new bootloader and firmware is great! Jus had the pleasure to reflash my stock and its all working great!
« Last Edit: November 23, 2020, 10:34:59 AM by served »