Author Topic: Operators as source in matrix?  (Read 233 times)

ericd

  • Team Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Operators as source in matrix?
« on: January 08, 2021, 01:26:44 AM »
Hi Xavier

Would it be possible to make Operators a source option in the matrix?

lokki

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
    • View Profile
Re: Operators as source in matrix?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2021, 07:47:22 AM »
i think this came up before. the matrix is not updated fast enough to make this feasible. (audio range).

what are you trying to modulate with an operator?

but maybe this has changed on preenfm3.

ericd

  • Team Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: Operators as source in matrix?
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2021, 09:02:10 AM »
I figured there must be some technical limitations otherwise it would already be implemented.

what are you trying to modulate with an operator?

I suppose the most obvious use would be for Amplitude Modulation (modulate mix1 with op2 for example). As far as I can see there are no sources in the matrix that go far into audio range?

lokki

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
    • View Profile
Re: Operators as source in matrix?
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2021, 09:51:09 AM »
Lfo would be your best bet, but yeah, they don't go far into audio range. Xavier outlined somewhere in the forums how fast the mod stuff is updated on Preenfm2, I guess it is a bit faster but similar on the preenfm3.

I don't have that Post ready, but you should be able to find it somewhere. This discussion was also relevant for the eurorack version and cv modulation.

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1860
    • View Profile
Re: Operators as source in matrix?
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2021, 04:31:32 PM »

Yes matrix and LFO are updated every 32 samples.
That would require much more CPU to have LFO and matrix calculated for every sample.