Author Topic: compile preenfm3 sources  (Read 3138 times)

Toltekradiation

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
compile preenfm3 sources
« on: February 12, 2021, 06:46:12 PM »
Hello Xavier,
i'm trying to figure out how to compile the preenfm3 firmware..
so far, i compiled preenfm3.bin without errors but the debug version is a 65ko file ,34ko for the release one, far from the ~430ko of the latest version.
I don't understand what i'm missing, maybe you can point out my errors please?

the way i did it :

Git clone the project
then in STM32CudeIDE, i create a new STM32 Project from an existing STM32CubeMx configuration .IOC : so here i use preenfm3/firmware/preenfm3.ioc
i press the build button and that's it.

obviously, not the good way. :P

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2257
    • View Profile
Re: compile preenfm3 sources
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2021, 09:13:31 PM »
OK i just tried and here is what worked :

Create an empty workspace.
Then click on File > Import and select "Existing projects into workspace"
Select the root preenfm3 directory.
Then in "projects" check :
. preenfm3/firmware
. preenfm3/bootloader
. preenfm3/lib
Click finish.
Then Project>build or ctrl B should build everything.
By default (can be changed) the lib is built last, so you have to build everything twice.

Then in "Debug configurations", look at the STM32 config and you'll see:
"Upload and Debug Firmware"
"Upload Release Firmware"
etc....
To use with a STLink board.

To change Debug/Release compilation.
Select all 3 projects "firmware, lib, bootlader" in the project explorer.
Right Click > Build Configurations > Set Active : and choose between Release and Debug.
Then rebuild All.

Don't know if you have a STLink but it works very well (i use a ST Link v2.1 cut from a cheap nucleo 64 boards).
The firmware is uploaded in 5 seconds.

If not, you may need to create dfu flashable objects.
So have a look in
. preenfm3/script/create_object.sh

Let me know if you have any questions :)
« Last Edit: February 12, 2021, 09:25:04 PM by Xavier »

Toltekradiation

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
Re: compile preenfm3 sources
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2021, 11:54:27 AM »
i did as you suggested with my st-link v2 clone (the small coloured one one can find everywhere) :
it works fine :D

Many thanks for your explanations !

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2257
    • View Profile
Re: compile preenfm3 sources
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2021, 09:43:17 PM »
i did as you suggested with my st-link v2 clone (the small coloured one one can find everywhere) :
it works fine :D

Many thanks for your explanations !


Cool :)
Enjoy the breakpoints, the stack and viewing all variables values at any time.

Toltekradiation

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
Re: compile preenfm3 sources
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2021, 11:19:41 AM »
yes, that's great, it's much faster to program than on the pfm2 !
To test the new cpu capabilities, i'm trying to add a master fx section ;D

For this, i added a third page in the Mix/Mix page : Fx send level.
And a third page in Mix/Global to set params of the fx.. the plan is to have a collection of fx there with 6 parameters :
1 for the fx type (reverb, delay, chorus..) and 5 parameters (time, tone, width..).
the fx out would be hardwired to the 1-2 jacks.

i will let you know if it turn to something interesting!  :)

solipsvs

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
    • View Profile
Re: compile preenfm3 sources
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2021, 07:08:56 PM »
richer filter algorithms would go a long way towards a better overall sound.  maybe there is enough cpu now for upgraded filters?  other distortions etc