Author Topic: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)  (Read 70734 times)

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2257
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)
« Reply #105 on: September 12, 2021, 11:18:44 AM »
@vurt New version with support for preenfm2 Unison.
I don't know if you use a PC or a MAC: Mac binaries will come soon.

https://github.com/Ixox/preenfm2Controller/releases/

I did not make many tests because it takes a lot of time.
Please report any bug you see.

EDITED : mac binaries are ready and available in the release link above.

« Last Edit: September 12, 2021, 07:21:45 PM by Xavier »

vurt

  • Team Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)
« Reply #106 on: September 12, 2021, 12:03:49 PM »
Cool, many thanks for continuing the support of PreenFM2 :) Will test!

mrdrbobo

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.3 (Bug fixes)
« Reply #107 on: December 06, 2021, 06:23:19 PM »
i made a little Ableton live Program changer - might not be useful for anyone else but me

This is great, thank you for sharing! Really the fastest way to browse the Preens presets. May I ask: when I switch to DX7 I cant switch between DX7 banks. Is that not implemented?

jaradical

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)
« Reply #108 on: December 07, 2021, 09:40:44 AM »
Hi All,

I just got the Host version built on Linux.  To get it to work I grabbed the latest JUCE release (6.1.2) here https://github.com/juce-framework/JUCE/releases
I fired up the Projucer on the pfm2Editor.jucer file then went to the Modules section.
Each module I updated the 'Paths for "Linux Makefile - Builds/Linux"' to JuceLibraryCode.
I also ticked Create local copy, although I'm not sure if this helped or not.
Then I saved the project and a new Makefile was created.
I was getting a couple of compilation errors - one about runModalLoop not existing.
To fix that, I edited the Host/Builds/Linux Makefile and added "-DJUCE_MODAL_LOOPS_PERMITTED=1" to the JUCE_CPPFLAGS definition.
The other was about some loss of precision in casting - to fix that I again updated the JUCE_CPPFLAGS by adding '-fpermissive'.

Finally everything seems to have built okay and I can launch the editor.  Haven't yet plugged my pfm3 into it, but at least it's built.

Cheers

kaosbeat

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)
« Reply #109 on: February 06, 2022, 03:15:35 PM »
First off it seems to work, path for modules are found, but eventually I hit an error building the linux Host version..

~/Downloads/preenfm2Controller-3.1.4/Host/Builds/Linux$ make
Compiling PluginProcessor.cpp
In file included from ../../../../../JUCE/modules/juce_core/system/juce_StandardHeader.h:71,
                 from ../../../../../JUCE/modules/juce_core/juce_core.h:204,
                 from ../../../../../JUCE/modules/juce_audio_basics/juce_audio_basics.h:54,
                 from ../../JuceLibraryCode/JuceHeader.h:17,
                 from ../../../Plugin/Source/PluginProcessor.h:25,
                 from ../../../Plugin/Source/PluginProcessor.cpp:20:
../../../Plugin/Source/PluginProcessor.cpp: In member function ‘void Pfm2AudioProcessor::setStateInformation(const void*, int, bool)’:
../../../Plugin/Source/PluginProcessor.cpp:771:145: error: cast from ‘MidifiedFloatParameter*’ to ‘int’ loses precision [-fpermissive]
  771 |                     DBG("SET > " << String(p) << " '" << nameForXML << "'  value " << (midifiedFP->getRealValue()) << " param adress : " <<(int)midifiedFP);
      |                                                                                                                                                 ^~~~~~~~~~
../../../../../JUCE/modules/juce_core/system/juce_PlatformDefs.h:130:51: note: in definition of macro ‘JUCE_BLOCK_WITH_FORCED_SEMICOLON’
  130 |  #define JUCE_BLOCK_WITH_FORCED_SEMICOLON(x) do { x } while (false)
      |                                                   ^
../../../Plugin/Source/PluginProcessor.cpp:771:21: note: in expansion of macro ‘DBG’
  771 |                     DBG("SET > " << String(p) << " '" << nameForXML << "'  value " << (midifiedFP->getRealValue()) << " param adress : " <<(int)midifiedFP);
      |                     ^~~
make: *** [Makefile:187: build/intermediate/Debug/PluginProcessor_e32f2d.o] Error 1Any Idea on the error?

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2257
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)
« Reply #110 on: February 08, 2022, 09:17:17 AM »
I haven't tried to compile for Linux for a long time.

The compiler does not want to cast an adress to an int. Maybe it should be an unsigned int.
I do that for debuging purpose only.
So you can remove the full DBG line (DBG stands for DEBUG), in Plugin/Source/PluginProcessor.cpp line 771
« Last Edit: February 08, 2022, 09:19:53 AM by Xavier »

Gordiegoose

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)
« Reply #111 on: February 27, 2023, 10:53:24 PM »
Hello!

With the editor Push/Pull buttons -

If I load a preset on the PreenFM 3 then press pull shouldn't it bring it into the editor on the computer? As it doesn't, it seems to do nothing. Is there a setting that I'm missing?

If I press “push” the p3 does seem to receive. It becomes “new preset”. Is there a setting I’m missing for “pull” to communicate maybe?


Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: February 28, 2023, 12:20:39 AM by Gordiegoose »

matrix12x

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)
« Reply #112 on: February 28, 2023, 02:31:35 AM »
Is your MIDI out set up/pluged in? (or if you are using USB, is MIDI out set up in the software)?

Gordiegoose

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)
« Reply #113 on: February 28, 2023, 04:13:46 AM »
I have it setup so I can play it via midi, and it’s connect via usb for power.

I’m away from it currently but the fact it sends via push made me think it was set correctly. Ah jeez, I kind hope it is and isn’t that!
I shall check in the morning…. ::) :o

Gordiegoose

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)
« Reply #114 on: February 28, 2023, 04:31:20 PM »
Is your MIDI out set up/pluged in? (or if you are using USB, is MIDI out set up in the software)?

Oh jeez! Yep this was it! Face, meet palm.

Thanks for pointing that out :-)

kaosbeat

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)
« Reply #115 on: March 18, 2023, 01:27:50 PM »
I haven't tried to compile for Linux for a long time.

The compiler does not want to cast an adress to an int. Maybe it should be an unsigned int.
I do that for debuging purpose only.
So you can remove the full DBG line (DBG stands for DEBUG), in Plugin/Source/PluginProcessor.cpp line 771

did that it helps!

OK I was able to compile the Host version again on debian 12, finally

Here's what I did
I did not alter the source, I just instructed JUCE to only only build the release version, not the Debug version.
I added JUCE_MODAL_LOOPS_PERMITTED=1 to the global extra preprocessor defenitions
On top of that I had to get the older JUCE 6.0.0 and point projucer, which I compiled from source , to this directory in the modules.

but it works!





hipelcanel

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)
« Reply #116 on: January 19, 2024, 01:41:42 PM »
Hello

The editor on windows 10 can't connect to the Preen fm2 with USB midi.

The message "input cannot be open" keep poping up when i'm trying to connect the editor.

I've choose all the correct settings in the Midi settings of the preen and also tried differents one.
I've tried different versions of the editor.

I've been using the editor on a mac before with success with the same preen.

Somehow the conexion works in the Standalone editor but as soon as i select the device in a DAW and send midi to it (tried with ableton and reaper) the standalone connexion also stop working.

Did someone had a similar experience or know what could be the problem ?

I'm running out of ideas...

Thanks for yr help

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2257
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)
« Reply #117 on: January 21, 2024, 06:22:42 PM »
Somehow the conexion works in the Standalone editor but as soon as i select the device in a DAW and send midi to it (tried with ableton and reaper) the standalone connexion also stop working.

Hi hupelcanel,

It should work with windows 10.

The preenfm editor open a direct connection to the midi device to to talk to the hardware.
So the standalone AND the plugin version cannot be used at the same time.

And for the plugin to work in a DAW you want to make sur that the daw does not already use the connection.
For AbletonLive for in Preferences>MIDI
And make sure "PreenFM MK2" is not used neither in input nor in output. All box must be unchecked.
Then you should be able to select "PreenFM MK2" in input and output in the plugin.
Xavier

hipelcanel

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: PC/MAC preenfm editor 3.1.4 (Preenfm2 Unison)
« Reply #118 on: January 25, 2024, 01:15:40 AM »
Hello

Yea it works ! ;D

It was indeed because the midi ports were selected on Ableton preferences.
With everything deselected it works nicely.
I didn't know about this exclusivity thing for the connexion


Thanks a lot Xavier !