Author Topic: PreenFM3 Buttons 1,2,Menu don't work  (Read 1904 times)

doctorsolberg

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
PreenFM3 Buttons 1,2,Menu don't work
« on: March 27, 2021, 01:26:17 PM »
Hello everyone!

Building preenfm3. Can't flash it because button 1 don't work in bootloader mode.
Buttons 3,6,+,- works good. Buttons 1,2,menu do nothing. Other buttons do nothing in bootloader mode, so can't check them.

Already checked:
1. Buttons are good - resistance drops when pressed.
2. Voltage on buttons is ok - 3,48V (and drops when pressed of course)

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2123
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Buttons 1,2,Menu don't work
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2021, 06:19:57 PM »
Hello,

Do you press the MENU button when turning on your preen to reach the preenfm bootloader ?

I flashed bootloader and firmware before shipping.
So the firmware should be flashed as well, and without pressing any button you should boot to the firmware not the bottloader.

Buton MENU, 1,2 4, are wired to the same chip on the control board.
Other buttons on an other chip so that can explain.

Could you post a (good quality) picture of your control board both side ?
And a picture with a zoom on the 2 chips in the top left of the control PCB.

Thanks

doctorsolberg

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Buttons 1,2,Menu don't work
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2021, 07:39:55 PM »
No, I didn't press any button. System starts bootloader immediately after powering on.

Here are the pictures.

Thank you!

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2123
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Buttons 1,2,Menu don't work
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2021, 11:28:25 PM »
No, I didn't press any button. System starts bootloader immediately after powering on.

Here are the pictures.

Thank you!

The preenfm enters the bootloader if MENU button is pressed.

One of the SMD 75HC165 is badly soldered  :(
They shiffted all pins  :o

I imagine you don't but i ask anyway, do you have a hot air station ?
If yes, it's quite easy to shift the 74HC165.

If you don't have a hot air station, I can  ship you another control bard early next week.
I can add 12 switches, but i don't have any encoders right now, do you think you can try to unsolder yours ?

Sorry about that

doctorsolberg

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Buttons 1,2,Menu don't work
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2021, 07:38:41 AM »
 :-\
Unfortunately I don't have a soldering air station. I will be grateful for sending a replacement.
But I have desoldering pump so disassembly should be possible. I will try it today and let you know if any more spare parts are needed.

doctorsolberg

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Buttons 1,2,Menu don't work
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2021, 11:00:57 AM »
Disassembled control board. I had to tinker with the encoders, but I got everything successfully.
Only problem that 4 buttons lost leg length. So it would be great if you could send me some buttons to replace in case of problems.

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2123
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Buttons 1,2,Menu don't work
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2021, 12:34:37 PM »
Disassembled control board. I had to tinker with the encoders, but I got everything successfully.
Only problem that 4 buttons lost leg length. So it would be great if you could send me some buttons to replace in case of problems.

Awesome..
Thanks a lot and sorry for the waste of time for you.
I'll add some switches/buttons to the control board PCB and will ship it tomorrow or tuesday.

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2123
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Buttons 1,2,Menu don't work
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2021, 06:38:12 PM »
@doctorsolberg i sent an email to your email adress.
Please reply to confirm your adress.