Author Topic: [solved] PreenFM3 new built problem  (Read 5878 times)

Kyg

• Team member
    • View Profile
[solved] PreenFM3 new built problem
« on: June 26, 2021, 06:13:35 PM »
Hi,

I received my PreenFM3 DIY kit from Van Daal today!

After assembly, the synth doesn’t seem to start up.
I am completely new to DIY synths, so it’s quite possible that I messed up something!

The only signs of life my PreenFM3 currently shows are a lit green and orange LED on the mainboard.
I’m powering it via an Apple iPhone USB charger. I also tried a different USB charger with higher output. Same result.
The SD card, formatted to FAT32, contains the flash_bootloader.cmd and firmware files, plus their bin files.

There are some discrepancies between the current boards and the assembly instructions by Van Daal. A few times I had to scratch my head a little before continuing. My kit came with the 1.6 mainboard and 1.2 controlboard.

I’m listing the important discrepancies, in case I messed up there:

- Page 1 of the assembly instructions shows a 2pin header with jumper that needs to be connected to USB Ground. This is missing on the 1.6 mainboard, so I didn’t do anything with the extra provided 2pin and jumper.
- Page 3 shows a 'Solder Wire Jumper' that doesn’t seem to exist on the 1.2 controlboard.
- Page 3 gives instructions for the placement of an 'Isolator Washer.' I did not use the provided washer and could not identify any purpose for it with the current boards.
- Page 4 shows the TFT installation. My kit included various pin thingies, supposedly as alternative means to deal with the TFT as there would be no other use for all of these except to handle the TFT.

I would be very glad for any advice anyone on this forum can give!
Please have mercy, if I did something foolish!

Thanks,
Phil

« Last Edit: June 28, 2021, 06:20:55 PM by Xavier »

Xavier

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 new built problem
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2021, 07:10:56 PM »

Hi,