Author Topic: Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem  (Read 254 times)

ElVicente

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem
« on: July 03, 2022, 04:07:33 PM »
Hi!

Just received my linnstrument and tried to connect it to my preenfm3.
I'm having some trouble, when I assign mpe pressure to Mix * I can hear some clicking noise whenever I adjust the pressure when playing (a lot of light clicking noises ). Could it be that the midi modulation lacks some smoothing ?

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2123
    • View Profile
Re: Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2022, 09:21:40 PM »
Hi,

It's maybe because with the "Mix * MPE pressure", the waveform is clipping.
What do you want to do ?

Does it work if you assign to "IMAll" to control the indice of modulation which should not clip.

ElVicente

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2022, 10:05:59 PM »
Thanks for the quick answer Xavier.
I'm trying control the patch's volume with mpe pressure only. Mix is set to 0 in the patch.
I'm pretty sure it's not clipping because it happens at low volume too.
Here's a recording attached.
Modulting IMAll with At Mpe seems ok though.

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2123
    • View Profile
Re: Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2022, 09:08:36 AM »

Thanks for the attached sound.

I'm trying to undertand what's happening.

As a matric source, do you use "AftTouc" or "AT MPE" ?
Can you monitor the output midi of you Linnstrument for the aftertouch message ?

ElVicente

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2022, 01:40:57 PM »
Euh ça te dérange si je continue en français ?

J'ai pu reproduire le problème avec tous les types d'after touch (AT, PolyAt, Mpe At) et en utilisant différents controleurs (hydrasynth clavier, Launchpad pro mk3, linnstrument)

Voici ma session de test sur reaper (j'espère que ça te va comme moyen de vérifier, sinon, dis le moi je t'envoie le midi à part)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/uko6c2hqvoui8fj/linnstrument%20debug.zip?dl=0

Cordialement
Vincent

Edit :
Ah oui le son est fait ainsi :
Son init à 3 opérateurs, Mix 1 à 0, toutes les valeurs de la matrice de modulation à 0 excepté l'aftertouch (ou poly ou mpe...) modulant Mix1 avec un facteur de 1.00...
« Last Edit: July 08, 2022, 09:44:31 AM by ElVicente »

lokki

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
Re: Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2022, 12:17:52 PM »
Ça dérange les autres qui pourrait profiter de la discussion...

ElVicente

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2022, 03:33:08 PM »
Ok then, here is my post translated in english :


I was able to reproduce the problem with all types of after touch (AT, PolyAt, Mpe At) and using different controllers (hydrasynth keyboard, Launchpad pro mk3, linnstrument)
Here is my test session on reaper (I hope it suits you as a way to check, if not, tell me I'll send you the midi file separately)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/uko6c2hqvoui8fj/linnstrument%20debug.zip?dl=0
Cordially
vincent
Edit:
Ah yes the sound is made like this:
It's init setting with 3 operators, Mix 1 to 0, all the values ​​of the modulation matrix to 0 except the aftertouch (or poly or mpe...) modulating Mix1 with a factor of 1.00...

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2123
    • View Profile
Re: Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2022, 12:10:56 AM »
Thanks for the details.
The noise seems to come from the fact that "Mix" destination is directly added to the volume.
And when use with after touch, each new value can be different from previous one.
So that adds "steps" in the waveform => noise.

I added a simple low pass filter to avoide those "steps" in the firmware attached.
https://github.com/Ixox/preenfm3/commit/c5667ee93a7eb0b16c14b2d120d0971eb1da8690
What i did can have side effect, so i won't turn it "official" right now.

Let me know if the firmware 0.111 attached bellow works for you.

ElVicente

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem
« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2022, 07:36:15 AM »
Thank you, I'll try it today

ElVicente

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem
« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2022, 08:41:32 AM »
Hi Xavier,

I beg your pardon, but what is the file I'm supposed to put in my preenfm3 sd card ? I could not find it in the github page you linked me too.
Edit : ah sorry I got it now !
« Last Edit: July 10, 2022, 08:52:57 AM by ElVicente »

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2123
    • View Profile
Re: Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2022, 09:10:09 AM »
Edit : ah sorry I got it now !

No problem  ;)

ElVicente

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem
« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2022, 10:18:57 AM »
Seems to be working fine now, thanks !
This device makes a real nice pair with the Linnstrument, looking for some time to make sounds and music now :)

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2123
    • View Profile
Re: Preenfm3 and Linnstrument problem
« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2022, 11:14:35 AM »
Nice !
Don't hesitate to share.
I haven't seen/heard any demo with Linstrument/preenfm3 MPE yet :)

Also don't forget that if you use MPE for instrument 1 with less than 15 voices, you can still use instruments 2-5 on free midi channel  ;)