Author Topic: PREENFM3 CONTROL PANEL CONNECTION PROBLEM  (Read 2882 times)

odayan

• Team member
    • View Profile
PREENFM3 CONTROL PANEL CONNECTION PROBLEM
« on: August 08, 2023, 09:21:44 PM »
Hi,

Completely newbie here. Preenfm3 is my first DIY project.

I assembled everything as per the build but control board buttons and knobs were either not working or working randomly.

I thought this is because bad soldering, first tried to repair the suspected bad soldering and then tried to desolder 6 pin connector where I ruined some of the pads  :'(

At this point I took professional support and got the 3 ruined connections hardwired to the correct tracks. The unit returned to the initial build state where %99 of the time the buttons and knobs are not working.

I checked the forum treads with control board problems and followed the steps for checking.

I've done all continuity and shortcut tests on all the connector pins. All are ok.

I get 5v on all 4 74HC165

I've checked the continuity of all buttons, all are ok.

All led activity at the main board are ok.

Connecting a midi keyboard I get sound and midi activity but no blue light blinking on the control board.

I couldnt enter DFU mode with the DFU button, neither with the menu button (which is not working).

My control board version is V2.0.1 and the main board v2.1

Any advice on the next step?

Thanks!!!

Olus

Xavier

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: PREENFM3 CONTROL PANEL CONNECTION PROBLEM
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2023, 09:32:27 AM »

Hi,

Yes looks like some soldering problems.
If does not work 99% of the time, that means it works 1% of the time.

When you check the 5v on the 74HC165, where do you take the GND ? On the control board too ?
I ask this because it can be a problem with GND on the control board.

Or maybe a shortcut between the 3 Data pins between the control board and the main board.

The DFU built in button on the main board must be hold down when turning on the preenfm.