PreenFM Forum

PreenFM => PreenFM1 (the blue one) => Topic started by: Studio54 on February 25, 2012, 01:01:09 AM

Title: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: Studio54 on February 25, 2012, 01:01:09 AM
Here some Presets.
This is my first Time, I use a Fm Synth.
but a very easy to use synthesizer.

I like the Preen.  :)
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm
Post by: Studio54 on February 25, 2012, 01:01:44 AM
and many more...
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm
Post by: Xavier on February 26, 2012, 11:16:23 AM

Hey thanks a lot.
These are the first PreenFM Patches on this forum !!  :D
Some of them are really good :
I like a lot the release in Bellish...
Or how one of the buddha Pad become fragile after 2 seconds (test patch.syx).
Nice... :-)

Tips to get a better signal/noise ratio.
Reduce the "Velo" value, that will prevent the noise to be very low.
Try to increase the sustain value of the enveloppes.. If that does not change the main idea of the sound, prefer them high.

Have you tried to use the step sequencer ?
Please keep on sharing !

Xavier
 
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm
Post by: Studio54 on February 26, 2012, 10:34:27 PM
Thanks for the Tip.

No the the sequencer I didn´t try to use.
This is the next step and a interessting Tool for dynamic Sound.
 8) I dipped deeply into the algorithms and don´t come back for many hours.  :D
FM is amazing / extensively.

You can use the presets for the next Firmeware Update?  That would be Cool.   ::)
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm
Post by: Xavier on February 27, 2012, 11:29:21 PM
The firmware 1.61 dont have any new presets.
But i keep them for a presets bank i'd like to build...
I'm glad you enjoy fm synthesis  :D

Xavier
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm
Post by: Ryan on March 17, 2012, 05:38:08 PM
Here are a couple more :)

Really really simple, but pretty I think.

They become really alive when you modulate the IM points in a sequencer (like numerology). CCs 17 and 18.
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm
Post by: funkyfli on May 30, 2012, 08:55:31 PM
Edited by Xavier for clarity : Here is the 128 patches bank


Here is a bank of 128 patches... mostly organized to Lead / Bass / Synth / Pad / Bell / Seq / FX

Martin.
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm
Post by: funkyfli on May 30, 2012, 10:39:54 PM
bummer.  I'd try importing them back into my PreenFM, but I'm not sure which bank they will put them in or if they are corrupt and will overwrite them with bad data.  Is it possible to select a bank to import them into?

thanks
Martin.
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm
Post by: Xavier on May 30, 2012, 10:43:29 PM
bummer.  I'd try importing them back into my PreenFM, but I'm not sure which bank they will put them in or if they are corrupt and will overwrite them with bad data.  Is it possible to select a bank to import them into?
thanks
Martin.


Yes, when receving a bank by sysex, the patches are stored in a temporary place on the EEPROM....
Then when everything is OK it asks you in which bank you want to save it. Then it copies it.

But don't do anything until i've investigate a bit further   ;)
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm
Post by: funkyfli on May 31, 2012, 01:33:41 AM
No worries.  I still have the patches here.  I should mention that they all have mod wheel and aftertouch and that the volumes and octaves are all over the place.  Also, two patches are out of tune that shouldn't be.  I'll fix it all soon enough.
  Once you get them loaded, I have a bug for you :)  When scrolling patches in the 'load' screen, sometimes a monophonic patch will distort (volume clipping).  I have been trying to figure out why and I think it might be due to switching a patch while sounds are still running or playing notes before the patch has fully loaded.  Hopefully, you will be able to reproduce it.

thanks,
 Martin.
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm
Post by: Xavier on May 31, 2012, 07:40:12 PM
Fixed in 1.71, and this bank is a real gift !!! Thanks a lot to share this huge amont of work.....  ;D

Now eveybody should upgrade to 1.71 and upload this fantastic bank !!  :D

Did you use the VST or did you programm those 128 patches on the PreenFM ?
Hopefully, i'll post a 1.72 soon that will fix the problem you noticed... i noticed that also from time to time... strange...

Xavier



Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: funkyfli on May 31, 2012, 08:23:14 PM
Thanks! ;D
I mostly created these on the VST.  Though, creating patches on the synth itself was pretty similar.  I just had to continuously look up where each IM and Operator went :)
The distortion seems to stick with a patch  when scrolling to other patches and back.  I'm not sure if that means anything.

Martin.

Edit:  updated bank... moved octaves to match my keyboard better :)
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: Xavier on May 31, 2012, 11:23:25 PM

I'm trying the patches one by one....
You really did a great job, the patch names are really good and fit well the sound....

Thanks again.....  :)

Xavier
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: funkyfli on June 01, 2012, 07:20:50 PM
 ;D  I hate searching through patches

Edit: I updated the bank... Velocity was set for Mix1 on a few patches where Mix1 was maximised.
In the Matrix, it seems that a multiplier of 16 maximises the Mix1 value.  Is this correct?  I reset patch 5 (AckAck) to this to stop the clipping.  (ModW 16 Mix1)

thanks, Martin.
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: 6581punk on June 03, 2012, 09:20:34 PM
I found that dumping to the PreenFM failed unless I told it that something way coming by selecting Load then Sysex.

Otherwise although it recognised that something has been received and asked me which bank to save to, when I did it was full of junk patches.
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: Xavier on June 03, 2012, 10:49:38 PM
I found that dumping to the PreenFM failed unless I told it that something way coming by selecting Load then Sysex.
Otherwise although it recognised that something has been received and asked me which bank to save to, when I did it was full of junk patches.

Loading a bank requires to select Load->Sysex...
Only single patch can be loaded without being in the "wait for sysex" mode.

So what you describe sounds like a bug.
I'll give a look.

Xavier
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: Xavier on June 04, 2012, 12:01:25 AM
I found that dumping to the PreenFM failed unless I told it that something way coming by selecting Load then Sysex.
Otherwise although it recognised that something has been received and asked me which bank to save to, when I did it was full of junk patches.

Thanks for the report...
I've just uploaded a 1.72.B2 in the beta directory ;
http://xhosxe.free.fr/PreenFM/firmware/BETA/

Please could you confirm it fixed the behavior you describe ?

Thanks,

Xavier
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: funkyfli on June 22, 2012, 08:34:10 PM
I had some free time and created some test drum patches.  I see a whole lot of potential for FM drums. :)
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: Xavier on June 26, 2012, 09:43:46 AM
Thanks....   :D
I'm currently totally overwhelmed by my real job, but that's very interesting to have some drum sound...
I'll give a try as soon as i have 10 minutes of free time ;-)
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: Ryan on July 16, 2012, 10:17:17 AM
I have that clipping issue too. It seems to me like sometimes the output is too high for the audio circuits and it distorts. I'll have to record it next time I hear it. It's worse on patches with 1 voice, as that tends for some reason to also make the patch louder. :D
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: funkyfli on July 16, 2012, 03:55:50 PM
Have you upgraded to the latest firmware?  I haven't had any clipping since it was fixed.  Though, I think if you push the volume excessively in the mod matrix you could get some clipping.
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: Xavier on July 20, 2012, 11:17:33 AM

2 good points from Funkyfli :
. The clipping problem when browsing patches should be fixed in 1.72
. To high values "multiply" in the matrix can lead to saturation/clipping/noise, but that shouldn't happen with the provided presets... Only if you modify them in a wrong way.

Hope you don't have the problem anymore with the last firmware.

Xavier
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: EarthGeneral on October 13, 2012, 05:19:41 AM
Hello,
I am having trouble loading the presets on to the PreenFM. I downloaded reaper and connected via MIDI. I then created a new track and dragged and dropped the .sysx file on to the track. Then on the Preen I went to load>SysEx and it said "waiting SysEx..." I then pressed play on the track in Reaper. Nothing happened.

I am wondering if the problem may lie in the connection via MIDI. I am running through a DigiDesign M-Box 2 on Windows Vista. MIDI out (from the interface) to MIDI in (on the Preen). Is there anywhere where a detailed itinerary and directions can be found? Maybe there is a YouTube video?

Please let me know!
THANKS!!
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: Xavier on October 15, 2012, 09:43:00 AM
Hello,

That's strange.. That should work.
Do you use the last firmware : 2.00 ?

Sorry, there's not detailed howto because it works like other sound module work.

If you add midi notes in the same track in Reaper, are they played by your preenFM ?

You can also try dedicated sysex manager :
http://www.elektron.se/support-and-downloads  (In Application folder, the name is C6)
http://www.midiox.com/

Xavier


Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm
Post by: r3m1m on January 24, 2013, 04:03:44 AM
Edited by Xavier for clarity : Here is the 128 patches bank


Here is a bank of 128 patches... mostly organized to Lead / Bass / Synth / Pad / Bell / Seq / FX

Martin.

Thanks a lot Martin for this pretty good bank!!!!! I love it!!
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: anmnrd on December 01, 2018, 08:23:34 PM
Hello there!

I recently got a second hand preenfm and i'm trying to upload these 128 patches. The only problem is that after the sysex file is sent the preen keeps showing "waiting sysex..." with a second line saying "Bank:0  ##-200". moving the encoders doesn't change anything, if i press menu again a message DONE appears but the patches are nowhere to be found.

Anybody can help?  :-[ i'm a total beginner in fm synthesis so having a few more presets would be great!

i'm running firmware 2.00

thank you  :-*
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: Xavier on December 19, 2018, 08:49:11 PM
Hello there!

I recently got a second hand preenfm and i'm trying to upload these 128 patches. The only problem is that after the sysex file is sent the preen keeps showing "waiting sysex..." with a second line saying "Bank:0  ##-200". moving the encoders doesn't change anything, if i press menu again a message DONE appears but the patches are nowhere to be found.

Anybody can help?  :-[ i'm a total beginner in fm synthesis so having a few more presets would be great!

i'm running firmware 2.00

thank you  :-*


Oopss sorry i totally missed this message.
This is the preenfm1 forum and there atlmost no activity over here.
Can you confirm you have the preenfm1 and not the 2 ?
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: anmnrd on December 29, 2018, 01:20:05 PM

Oopss sorry i totally missed this message.
This is the preenfm1 forum and there atlmost no activity over here.
Can you confirm you have the preenfm1 and not the 2 ?

No worries :) i think it's amazing that you still help people out! i'm sure there's lots happening :) but yeah i have the preenfm 1, i can confirm!
Title: Re: Presets for PreenFm (128 patches bank included)
Post by: Xavier on December 30, 2018, 05:56:40 PM

OK Thanks for the confirmation :)

Seems like the sysex is sent to rapidely or not at the speed the preenfm1 expects.
Can you add some delay between ?
I think i remember C6 from electron can do that.