Author Topic: PreenFM3 Questions  (Read 2003 times)

solipsvs

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #15 on: September 18, 2020, 04:28:25 AM »
oh im sorry youre annoyed we asked for features.  your 2 cents were so righteous tho!

Drexy

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #16 on: September 24, 2020, 04:11:07 AM »
PM with feedback please :D

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1638
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2020, 11:47:34 AM »
I wonder if it's possible in the new PFM3 to design it so that there is no clicking when changing programs.

That's a tricky part.
But i agree it would be great, i need to investigate that a little more.

lokki

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2020, 01:30:41 PM »
i think "commercial" synths usually just fade out the current sound and then load the new one.

the absolute golden way would be a crossfade (with adjustable time) between one preset and the other :-) some kind of morph function.
but that is probably too advanced for a simple program change.

i think just fading out the current sound (3ms) will greatly help with the clicking. or you can delay the patch switching until you hit the next zero crossing of the waveform currently playing. of course this will get very adventurous with a combo of 4 or 6 instruments :-)

another point to consider, what do you do with currently playing midi notes? simply stop them? change the sound and keep them playing? only load the new sound, once you get a note off?

actually the option to keep voices/instruments sounding until you get a note off would be very nice, but again this essentially means you have to load the new sound and keep the old sound in memory...

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1638
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #19 on: September 28, 2020, 02:26:24 PM »
I wonder if it's possible in the new PFM3 to design it so that there is no clicking when changing programs.

i think "commercial" synths usually just fade out the current sound and then load the new one.
another point to consider, what do you do with currently playing midi notes? simply stop them?


The next preenfm3 firmware (0.91) will have a silent preset loading process

. The concerned instrument quickly fades out its current playing sounds. No clicking.
. If it was playing notes, they are triggered again after the new preset is loaded.
. Other instruments continue playing as if nothing happens.

That's a nice improvement, specially when changing preset while the sequencer is playing.

It was not really straightforward  ;)
https://github.com/Ixox/preenfm3/commit/5227b9f1801acafbf89ba286c969297f62fe276a

Thanks for the discussion :)

« Last Edit: September 28, 2020, 02:33:36 PM by Xavier »

lokki

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #20 on: September 28, 2020, 07:54:27 PM »
oh, yes! nice one!!! 404 additions, poor xavier.

observer

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #21 on: October 04, 2020, 10:32:08 PM »
I wonder if it's possible in the new PFM3 to design it so that there is no clicking when changing programs.

i think "commercial" synths usually just fade out the current sound and then load the new one.
another point to consider, what do you do with currently playing midi notes? simply stop them?


The next preenfm3 firmware (0.91) will have a silent preset loading process

. The concerned instrument quickly fades out its current playing sounds. No clicking.
. If it was playing notes, they are triggered again after the new preset is loaded.
. Other instruments continue playing as if nothing happens.

That's a nice improvement, specially when changing preset while the sequencer is playing.

It was not really straightforward  ;)
https://github.com/Ixox/preenfm3/commit/5227b9f1801acafbf89ba286c969297f62fe276a

Thanks for the discussion :)

simply awesome. Thanks xavier! I wonder if this same technique could be applied to pfm2? I realize that development is focused on the 3, but it would be nice to use them both together and I'm sequencing all of my synths, often with program changes. so this is a vital thing in my setup.

thanks again. very excited for this pfm3 as it develops.

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1638
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #22 on: October 07, 2020, 10:09:57 PM »
PM with feedback please :D

Available in the v0.91
https://github.com/Ixox/preenfm3/releases


Don't expect a all new universe of sound, but can be interesting in some situation.
So it's a phase modulation feedback with a DC offset removal algo not to shift main frequency of the followin FM op.

For each algo the operator with feedback is visible in the UI, and can be changed with the "Fdbk" encoder.




matrix12x

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #23 on: October 09, 2020, 03:53:51 AM »
No chance for adding that (PM feedback) to the PFM2?

Megalomidiac

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #24 on: October 09, 2020, 12:57:10 PM »
I have 3D printed the casing yesterday.

Will the PreenFM3 produce so much heat that all this holes are necessary or is it just design?

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1638
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #25 on: October 09, 2020, 04:11:10 PM »
No chance for adding that (PM feedback) to the PFM2?

It's doable,
I won't do that for the pfm2 in a near futur for sure. Too many things to do.
As code is available, maybe someone else will do that before me.

That won't put the PFM2 in a new dimension. That's a little enhancement to my opnion.
It's more  a marketing announce as i could see on different forum that people are wanting it  ;)



Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1638
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #26 on: October 09, 2020, 04:12:46 PM »
I have 3D printed the casing yesterday.
Will the PreenFM3 produce so much heat that all this holes are necessary or is it just design?

To save PLA/plastic only ;)
But it's not very nice.
Did you use the STL file or the Fusion360 model ?
I think it's easy to modify it.

Megalomidiac

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #27 on: October 09, 2020, 05:29:52 PM »
I have used the .stl because Im using FreeCad, not Fusion.

But it will be easy to close the holes, just import the .stl and convert it.

Do you plan to publish the exact space variables?
I would like to make an acrylic casing like its existing for Ambika and Anushri when I have time in winter. So it would be helpful to have the front and back panel as Adobe Illustrator file.
I don't know if it would be possible to export them from Fusion. I will try to export the .stl to an Illustrator compatible format at first.

The printed casing is fine so far, I just had a bit of warping (PETG) and it unfortuantly does not close exactly. Anyway, it will last until there is a metal or acrylic casing.
« Last Edit: October 09, 2020, 05:38:35 PM by Megalomidiac »

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1638
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #28 on: October 09, 2020, 06:07:12 PM »
Do you plan to publish the exact space variables?
I would like to make an acrylic casing like its existing for Ambika and Anushri when I have time in winter. So it would be helpful to have the front and back panel as Adobe Illustrator file.

What would you need ?
I think i can export the surface to svg or dxf.

Megalomidiac

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 Questions
« Reply #29 on: October 09, 2020, 06:16:12 PM »
Thank you, .dxf would be perfect!