Author Topic: OTmkii + preenfm2 how to connect?  (Read 1383 times)

karlisss

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
OTmkii + preenfm2 how to connect?
« on: April 04, 2021, 08:04:42 AM »
hallo!
 i never used classic midi. now i trying to connect OTmkii and preenfm2 via midi cable both devices and have hard times. 
here are my curent setings:
OTmkii
midi/proj/control:
audio cc in OF
audio cc out : int+ext
audio note in: OF
audio note out: int+ext

midi/proj/sync:
transp send ON
transp recv OFF
clk send ON
clk recv OF
prog ch send ON
ch auto
recv OF
ch auto

MIDI. PROJ. CHANELS
auto ch 14 (set because in forum somwhere someone mentioned)
rest is default 1ch1 etc to 8

in T1 MIDI page : Pt:1 ONE MIDI CH:-- (i think there must be some number ???)

preen FM settings:
TOOLS / SET/
USB MIDI : IN
MIDI CH. 1:1 (rest 2:2. 3:3. 4:4)
Current CH. :1
Global CH. : 1
midi thru NO
Recieves: CC & NRPN
Send NONE
Program ch: YES

so far preenfm2 recieves only CLOCK tempo...
in OTmkii PDF manual everything is super complicated, like for MIDI pro studio engineers. But i believe there must be some simple way for guy like me ,who just bought first MIDI cable in my life.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2021, 08:06:21 AM by karlisss »

ericd

  • Team Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: OTmkii + preenfm2 how to connect?
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2021, 09:31:11 AM »
in T1 MIDI page : Pt:1 ONE MIDI CH:-- (i think there must be some number ???)

This is the main issue. You need to go into the Setup page of MIDI Track 1 on your OT and set it to Ch1. Remember to press the encoder to 'save' the channel. (Of course, plug a MIDI cable from OUT on the OT to IN on the Preen)

This will make OT MIDI track one send MIDI information on Ch1. Your Preen Instrument 1 should now be triggered when you put a trigger on OT MIDI track 1. (You can configure the Preen so each Instrument is controlled by any MIDI channel you choose. By default, Inst 1 receives Channel 1).

Are you just trying to control the Preen with the OT? If yes, you can ignore all those midi settings in the first part of your post- that is for setting up the audio channels on the OT to be controlled by an external MIDI device.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2021, 09:34:08 AM by ericd »

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2113
    • View Profile
Re: OTmkii + preenfm2 how to connect?
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2021, 11:27:27 AM »


Current CH. :1
Global CH. : 1

For a regular midi channel 1,2,3,4 talking to instrument 1,2,3,4 you should start with :
  Current CH. : None
  Global CH. : None


"Current Channel" is for the currently edited instrument. Only for specific use case, when you want to control all instrument from a single
"Global Channel" channel sent to all instruments. Was added for midi MPE.


karlisss

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: OTmkii + preenfm2 how to connect?
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2021, 06:03:22 PM »
thank you!
it seems i didnt know that OT have enter function in rotary knobs..
now i have chromatic keybord for preen fm2 !!!
lets inverstigate further :)

ericd

  • Team Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: OTmkii + preenfm2 how to connect?
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2021, 01:23:49 AM »
Glad it's worked out.

The 'push encoder to enter' function is one of the great sources of frustration and confusion for all new OT owners!