Author Topic: PreenFM3 display going blank  (Read 2867 times)

Kyg

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #15 on: July 22, 2022, 11:13:05 AM »
Hi,

after a long time away from my music equipment, I’m just coming back now and am currently using the PreenFM3 remote controlled via the editor software without ever looking at the display of the synth. So I haven’t attempted to fix the display yet.

I just read in another thread on this forum that someone might have successfully fixed their display by installing a different display. The person provided a purchase link for that on Amazon. My impression is that I should just buy that display instead of trying to re-solder the display that came with the PreenFM3 kit.

But I probably won’t deal with that anytime soon and am quite happy using the PreenFM3 through the editor only.

And just to say it again: I love the synth engine and the sounds I’m getting from the PreenFM3!

Phil

Kyg

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #16 on: July 22, 2022, 11:14:44 AM »
Oops, seems like the person who asked me for an update might have been the one who tried a different display!

So, I guess that didn’t work out after all.

Phil

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2136
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #17 on: July 26, 2022, 05:35:48 PM »
cokosha, do you have the same problem ?

To both of you, I have a few spare TFTs in stock.
So i can try one and ship it to you.

I won't be at home before end of August, please contact me then.

Kyg

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #18 on: July 26, 2022, 05:44:15 PM »
Hi Xavier,

if you try your spare TFTs and think they might be a fix to the problem, I’d be happy to buy one!

I’ll contact you at the beginning of September.

Thanks!

Phil

jdlesemajeste

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #19 on: August 07, 2022, 03:28:26 AM »
Does it turn all white? That happened to me frequently and I bought another screen and the problem went away. I happened to use one of the touch versions of the screen. I think some screens have more problem with this than others.

Kyg

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #20 on: August 08, 2022, 11:06:19 PM »
Thanks for your reply, JDL…

And thanks for confirming that swapping out the display is a possible fix for the screen going all white.

I’ll go that route after I check back with Xavier at the end of August.

Thanks,
Phil

ericd

  • Team Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #21 on: August 10, 2022, 11:52:58 AM »
Could people post links to TFT screens that they have had problems with and that have worked without any issues? That could be a handy old list?

ericd

  • Team Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #22 on: August 12, 2022, 06:02:19 AM »
Sorry for the double post.

I can't seem to find any ILI9341 TFT that is not touchscreen.

Ardi @ VanDaal suggested using a non-touchscreen TFT.

So- could anyone please provide a link to a non-touchscreen ILI9341 TFT?

Toltekradiation

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #23 on: August 13, 2022, 03:04:10 PM »
Hi,
this one may do the job :
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07KPF15B1/ref=pe_3044141_185740131_TE_item
That's the one i'm using on my pfm3.
Works fine, but i had to fix it first by soldering the sd card pins myself...

ericd

  • Team Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #24 on: August 15, 2022, 10:32:03 AM »
Thank you- unfortunately that link says the product is now unavailable.

Further suggestions welcome!

Toltekradiation

  • Team Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #25 on: August 15, 2022, 01:30:53 PM »
ah, i think availability is location dependant, the tft is available from that link on my side...
What country are you from ?

ericd

  • Team Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #26 on: August 15, 2022, 01:37:20 PM »
Post removed to avoid confusion for other users.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2022, 01:17:07 PM by ericd »


ericd

  • Team Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #28 on: August 17, 2022, 01:19:37 PM »
those seems to have touchscreen...

Thanks, I guess it makes sense that Press Panel means the same thing as Touch Display.

I have removed the links in my previous post to avoid any potential confusion.

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2136
    • View Profile
Re: PreenFM3 display going blank
« Reply #29 on: August 23, 2022, 08:59:41 AM »
The touch layer adds around 1mm of thickness and it may not fit the VanDall case + plexi protection.
You may want to verify.

If you don't see the U2 chip soldered on the back of the PCB on the pictures, it does not have the touch layer.

You can read this page for more info about the TFT :
https://github.com/Ixox/preenfm3/wiki/TFT