Author Topic: Midi Clock Control  (Read 1417 times)

emc7979

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Midi Clock Control
« on: May 07, 2021, 06:38:16 AM »
New to this machine.I have the preenfm2 hooked up to a computer via usb using the editor in REAPER, the midi out of my keyboard is going into the preen, and I have a midi cable going from the preen to my roland drum machine. I want the preen to control the drum machines tempo but it's not working. I know my drum machine is set up correctly to accept external clock because I can control it from multiple other devices. What settings do I need on the preen? Thanks, it is a great instrument so far.

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2011
    • View Profile
Re: Midi Clock Control
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2021, 04:23:56 PM »

The preenfm2 does not have a main midi clock. So it does not send any midi clock over midi.

All arpegiator/LFO can be synced to an external midi clock it receives though.


emc7979

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Midi Clock Control
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2021, 11:54:16 PM »
Got it. How do I update the firmware? Thanks!

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2011
    • View Profile
Re: Midi Clock Control
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2021, 05:09:19 PM »
Easiest way to upgrade is to follow step 1 & 2 here :
http://ixox.fr/preenfm2/preenfm/upgrade-firmware/

emc7979

  • Team member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Loading new Patches
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2021, 11:16:32 PM »
Hi Xavier I am trying to load new patches onto my preen. One of them is your Studioreine bank. I put the sysex file into the DX7 folder but its not showing up on my preen. I noticed that the bacnks that work on my unit are .bnk I don't know anything about this file type how to find/convert. I'd love some help understanding how to figure this out. Thanks!

Xavier

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2011
    • View Profile
Re: Midi Clock Control
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2021, 07:16:59 PM »

Hi,

If the sysex DX7 files don't not show up that means they're not compatible.

There are several types of DX7 sysex files.
The preenfm can only import the 32 presets version with a size of 4101 bytes.